Skip to Main Content

Education: Data & Statistics

Key Collections & Projects

The following data and statistics websites are organized geographically, with prominent subdivisions noted. Additional websites can be found here

Washington State

Washington State Report Card

Managed by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Washington State Report Card provides key statistics about schools and districts on student demographics, WASL scores, teacher information and financial data.

United States

National Center for Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Their robust website provides an overview of the surveys, programs, data, tools and more that are used to evaluate the state of education across the U.S. and beyond.

A congressionally mandated annual report summarizing the latest data from NCES and other sources on education in the United States, the Condition of Education is designed to help policymakers and the public monitor educational progress. The report contains key indicators on all levels of education, labor force outcomes, and international comparisons and summarizes important developments and trends using the latest statistics, which are updated on an ongoing basis.

Provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) comprises 12 interrelated survey components conducted annually that gathers data from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs. The data collections occur in fall, winter, and spring.

This publication provides projections for key education statistics. It includes statistics on enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools, and enrollment and earned degrees conferred expenditures of degree-granting institutions. For the Nation, the tables, figures, and text contain data on enrollment, teachers, graduates, and expenditures for the past 14 years and projections to the year 2021.

Investigates important education trends in detail. Include both formal indicator reports and detailed tabulations to support further analyses.

U. S. Department of Education

The mission of the Department of Education is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. The Department is likewise dedicated to establishing policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributing as well as monitoring those funds; collecting data on America's schools and disseminating research; focusing national attention on key educational issues; and prohibiting discrimination and ensuring equal access to education.

Frequently referred to as "the Nation's Report Card," the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) measures student achievement and is the largest nationally representativ‚Äče and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

International

NCES International Comparisons in Education

The NCES International Comparisons in Education (IAP) supports a variety of activities to make international comparative data available on education and learning. Indicators and assessments are the primary foci.

OECD iLibrary (Education)

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, podcasts and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.

Open Doors

Open Doors is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities.

UNESCO Education Statistics

The UNESCO Institute of Statistics provides comparative data on various countries' education, science and technology, culture, and communication.