Research Guides
Maps & Cartographic Information: Geologic Maps
Search tips for finding maps, atlases, aerial photos, GIS, and other cartographic materials.
Frequently Used Resources
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is an electronic database produced by the American Geological Institute with references to information on geoscience topics. It contains over 1.5 million citations to journal articles, books, reports, meeting publications, dissertations, theses and maps. Coverage for North America is from 1785 to present, coverage for other areas is from 1933 to present.
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications WarehouseEmphasis upon publications 1995 to present. For older materials, see the print version below.
- Guide to USGS publications (print version)Ceased publication in 1998. For newer publications, see the website above.
- Index to geologic and geophysical mapping of Washington, 1899-1983compiled by Connie J. Manson
- Geologic and geophysical mapping of Washington, 1984 through 1997compiled by Connie J. Manson
- Index to published geologic mapping in Washington, 1854-1970by William H. Reichert
- Digital bibliography of the geology and mineral resources of Washington StateCovers 1798 through the present (updated monthly).
- WAGDA - GeologyDigital geologic data for Washington and the Pacific coast
Geologic Maps & the Collection
The Map Collection is the regional depository for all maps issued by the United States Federal Depository Program, which includes many USGS maps, Open File Reports (OFRs), and Miscellaneous Investigations Series Maps (MIS). The Collection has excellent geologic coverage of Washington state, very good coverage of the rest of the United States, and good coverage for most of the world.
Catalog Search Tips: Geologic Maps
Use UW Libraries Search to find geologic maps.
- Try a keyword search using the word "geolog*" and your geographic area. Then refine your results using the resource type "maps". (The asterisk * tells the catalog to search for any word beginning with those letters.) For example: geolog* New Zealand
- Once you have found an item you are interested in, please write down the call number and the location. Geologic maps can be found in many locations in the Map Collection. Please ask a Maps staff member if you need assistance locating an item.
Digital geologic maps
- 1:100,000 topographic quadrangles for Washington State are available in ArcInfo format at the Washington State Geospatial Data Archive (WAGDA)'s Washington geology page. For questions about these sets, please email us at uwlib-gis@uw.edu.
Related Terms & Definitions
Geologic maps represent the physical forces which act upon the Earth, the chemistry of the materials of which the Earth is made, the shape of the surface of the Earth, and the biology of the past as evidenced by fossils.
(Adapted from the definition of "geology," Glossary of the Mapping Sciences, p. 219, Suzzallo Ground Floor Reference TA505.G57 1994.)