Maps & Cartographic Information: Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Search tips for finding maps, atlases, aerial photos, GIS, and other cartographic materials.

GIS & the Collection

Map Collection staff can:

Provide access to GIS and desktop mapping software. The University of Washington has a site license with ESRI which governs who can install the software and how it can be used.
Identify, acquire, and provide access to digital geospatial and statistical data for use in GIS.
Help you determine your data needs and assist with locating the data to suit those needs.
Help you incorporate data into your GIS projects.

Map Collection staff cannot:

create maps for you; we can help you find data and integrate it into your existing GIS projects or refer you to technical support.
teach you how to use GIS software; we do provide manuals and access to online tutorials.

The Map Collection has collections of digital geospatial data on CD-ROM and on servers for research and educational use. Our collection focuses on the Puget Sound and State of Washington areas, but we also have national and international datasets.

Examples of our data include digital orthophotos of the Seattle area, U.S. Census data, digital line graphs (DLGs) and digital raster graphics (DRGs), as well as datasets from the City of Seattle, King County, and Snohomish County. Information in these datasets includes street layers, bike paths, critical areas (e.g., potential slide areas), building outlines, and much more.

To see some of the digital data that the Map Collection offers online, look at the Geospatial Data Resources Guide (formerly WAGDA). Use of selected datasets is restricted to UW students, faculty and staff due to license agreements with the data creator/provider.

GIS Assistance and Lab

GIS assistance is available from

Software

ESRI software (ArcGIS, ArcInfo, etc.)
- This link opens in a new window
Review the conditions of the site license. ArcGIS Desktop software is available in the Government Publications Instruction Lab (aka GIS Lab) as well as on all AccessPlus computers in the Libraries. It is also available in various departmental campus labs. Downloadable ISO images of the installation media are available at ArcGIS Software at UW. To ensure compliance with the restrictions of the site license, software only circulates to faculty and staff, or to students who have written permission from a faculty or staff member. Email us if you have questions.

UW Libraries provides access to a variety of software packages, including TopoUSA, Microsoft Encarta, MapPoint 2000, Census data extraction software, and several applications available through the university-wide ESRI site license.

Getting to Know ArcGIS
A workbook for learning ArcGIS
ESRI Maps & Data
The ESRI data set includes political and administrative boundaries, street layers, other natural and manmade features for the U.S., Canada, Mexico, Europe, and the world. Email us for more info and how to use.
The Global GIS Database
These discs (Europe, North Eurasia, and North America) contain digital atlases for the countries in each region. They include free GIS software, or they may also be used with ESRI's ArcView software. Customized ArcView tools, specifically designed to make the atlas easier to use, are also included.
How to use: These discs can be checked out, or you can use them in our GIS lab. We encourage you to examine the CDs for your region of interest and copy the specific datafiles you need. While there is some software/interface provided, it is actually ArcView 3.3, an earlier version of ArcGIS.

Websites

Data.Seattle.Gov
The purpose of Data.Seattle.Gov is to increase public access to high value, machine-readable datasets generated by various departments of Seattle City Government.
Geospatial Data Resources Guide (formerly WAGDA)
This site includes data for King County, City of Seattle, Washington geology, Washington digital elevation models (DEMs) and digital line graphs (DLGs). Some of this data is UW Restricted.
Washington Geospatial Open Data Portal
Provides a single point of access to geospatial information across Washington. The portal acts as a gateway to an extensive data catalog -- this is a master inventory where users can find standard information about geospatial data sets available for use.
Access Washington
This is the place to start when looking for geospatial data produced by Washington state agencies, including:
The National Map (USGS)
This website provides public access to high-quality geospatial data and information from Federal, State, and local partners.
ESRI
A wealth of software and technical support, data, training, and general GIS information. Includes the GIS dictionary below.
GIS dictionary (ESRI)
A dictionary of terms used in the context of Geographic Information Systems.

Data Files

USGS Digital Orthophoto Quarter Quads (DOQQs)
This set of CD-ROMs has digital aerial photography for much of Washington State. Use ArcView, ArcInfo or other GIS/imagery software to view these photos. Also online.
USFS (Forest Service) Digital Orthophoto Quads (DOQs)
These are scanned USGS topographic maps, at all three scales (1:24K, 1:100K, 1:250K), for Washington State. The items are georeferenced, which means they are ready to be used in GIS software. They can also be used in image software such as Photoshop. It is public domain data. Use ArcView, ArcInfo or other GIS/imagery software to view these photos. There is also viewing software included on the CD. Also online.
Digital Raster Graphics (DRGs)
These are scanned USGS topographic maps, at all three scales (1:24K, 1:100K, 1:250K), for Washington State. The items are georeferenced, which means they are ready to be used in GIS software. They can also be used in image software such as Photoshop. It is public domain data. Use ArcView, ArcInfo or other GIS/imagery software to view these photos. Also online.
Geolytics Census Data Extraction & Mapping products
This software extracts Census data into .dbf files and shapefiles for use in GIS software or statistical software (including Excel). The software is already installed in the GIS lab. Guidebooks are available on the software manual shelf in the GIS lab (call numbers of the CDs and the guidebooks are the same). A list of Census variables is in a black binder in the GIS lab. You can either use the software yourself to get the data you need (see GIS Help), or you can set up an appointment with the GIS staff to help you.

Introduction to GIS

A Geographic Information System (GIS) is a database management system for the display and analysis of digital geospatial data. GIS combines mapping capabilities, databases of geographic and feature information, and spatial analysis to allow users to look at an area in relation to other areas, in relation to changes over time, and in relation to various other factors.

"Simply put, a GIS combines layers of information about a place to give you a better understanding of that place. What layers of information you combine depends on your purpose—finding the best location for a new store, analyzing environmental damage, viewing similar crimes in a city to detect a pattern, and so on." (ESRI, What Is GIS?.)

The Ordnance Survey's GIS Zone provides an interactive introduction to GIS.

The University of Washington Consortium for Geographic Information and Analysis (UWCGIA)
an organization for everyone at UW who uses GIS, remote sensing, and related technologies. Refer to their list of academic departments that teach GIS theory and use, or go directly to their list of GIS courses.
ESRI Virtual Campus
- This link opens in a new window
ESRI, a leading manufacturer of GIS software, teaches classes through its Virtual Campus. UW faculty, staff and students may register for free.
King County GIS Center Training
The King County GIS Center offers GIS classes and free brown-bag workshops which are open to anyone in the Puget Sound Region.
GIS Poster - United States Geological Survey (USGS)

Search Tips

Clarify your data needs with this Needs Assessment prior to contacting us for assistance.

Search Tips for Data Provided by Organizations/Agencies

Ask yourself which organization might have produced the data you need:

a city, county, or state government?
the United States Federal government?
another country's government?
an international government organization such as the United Nations or the European Union?
a nonprofit organization?

Search for their website using a general search engine or try usa.gov.

Can I Buy GIS Data?

GIS data can be expensive. If you are considering buying GIS data for a University of Washington project, please contact us first. We may already own data that would be helpful to you or may be able to help you locate what you are looking for.