Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Maps & Cartographic Information
- Other Resources & Websites
Maps & Cartographic Information: Other Resources & Websites
Search tips for finding maps, atlases, aerial photos, GIS, and other cartographic materials.
Related Resources & Websites
- Aerial Photo Project ToolUse an interactive map to determine if we have aerial photographs for your area and dates of interest (disclaimer). Aerial Photos are not online at this time.
- GIS LabMap Collection/Government Publications GIS Lab is open 20 hours per week for UW students, staff, and faculty. The lab web page provides information on hours, location, and available hardware and software.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is an electronic database produced by the American Geological Institute with references to information on geoscience topics. It contains over 1.5 million citations to journal articles, books, reports, meeting publications, dissertations, theses and maps. Coverage for North America is from 1785 to present, coverage for other areas is from 1933 to present. See the GeoRef Users Guide
hosted by ProQuest.
- Geospatial Data Resources Guide (formerly WAGDA)This guide has geospatial data for the state of Washington and also contains selected non-Washington geospatial data sets that have been created by students and researchers at the University of Washington. The datasets you will find here are primarily formatted for use in ESRI's ArcView or Arc/Info software.
- Early Washington Maps: A Digital CollectionThis site is a collaboration between Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections at the Washington State University and Special Collections and the Map Collection at the University of Washington Libraries. Spanning three hundred years, the site includes maps of explorers such as Lewis and Clark, documents ownership struggles and boundary disputes in the region, shows the development of one of the last frontiers on the continent, and more.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowConsists of catalog records and holdings information for material owned by libraries around the world.
Local Places to Buy Maps
Note: this is not a comprehensive list of local vendors, nor does the Libraries explicitly recommend the vendors listed here.
- Metsker MapsAn excellent local resource for all things cartographic, particularly reproductions of antique maps.
- World Maps OnlineOnline map retailer based in Seattle.
- University BookstoreA good source for atlases.
NYTimes: Maps News
Loading ...
Map Blogs & Podcasts
- Other Map Blogs to Follow - FeedspotA list of other, currently running map blogs to have a look at.