E-Book Collections: Collections by Subject

Information on finding and using e-books at the UW Libraries

Multidisciplinary Collections - good for multiple subjects

ABC-Clio eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductory books covering history, popular culture and more
ACLS Humanities E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major academic books in fields ranging from area studies to sociology
EBSCOhost ebook collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.
eDuke books scholarly collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects published by Duke University Press.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.

Project Muse Books
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.

Collections of early books published primarily before 1924; most in English.

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books published in colonial and early America
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books published in England between the years 1470 and 1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books published in England between 1701 and 1800
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. See our HathiTrust Guide

Digitalia Hispanica
Over 160 Spanish language ebooks on history, literature, literary criticism, and poetry.
Patrologia Latina
- This link opens in a new window
"The Patrologia Latina covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216."

Scripta Sinica (Academia Sinica) 中央研究院漢籍電子文獻資料庫 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text traditional Chinese classics especially Chinese history
SuperStar Chinamaxx Digital Library Collection 超星中文电子书集献 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massive collection of Chinese books, mostly 1949 to present. See User Guide
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Greek texts covering from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. Requires creation of individual account for complete access.

Torrossa: Edición Española Online
150 Spanish language ebooks on language and lliterature.

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and more
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art reference works, biographies, and encyclopedias, including Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

ENGnetBASE Engineering Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering handbooks.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering and science books including ASM Handbooks.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current (latest 3 years only) online computer & technical manuals
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering & computer science works.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Textbooks, images and illustrations, self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search pharmacy references.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Textbooks, multimedia, images, drug information, quick answers sources.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical & nursing books
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts & CME materials
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mental health textbooks, manuals and handbooks.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering and science books including ASM Handbooks.
MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brain science books plus related journals & encyclopedias
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing & allied health books.

Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and drug texts, including Stedman's medical dictionary. User limits vary

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Renowned book series on history, language, literature and more.
Elgaronline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books in law, economics, and social and political sciences, including reference works and handbooks.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Publications and datasets by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development & affiliated agencies.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.

Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database emphasizing English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, and critical essays.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.

MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brain science books plus related journals & encyclopedias
SIAM e-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books published by Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer.