Skip to main content

Research Guides

The WSJA is a collaboration of the Washington State Jewish Historical Society and UW Libraries Special Collections.

Milwaukee Sausage Co. employees at company's first location, 20th Ave. and E. Columbia St., Seattle, Washington, ca. 1933. Washington State Jewish Archives, UW1489

The Washington State Jewish Archives (WSJA) is the premier collection documenting the Jewish experience in Washington State. It reflects this unique Jewish community in the far West, characterized by its large Sephardic population. The WSJA contains collections of organizational records and personal papers, photographs, oral history interviews, audio recordings, and moving images. 

  • Organizational records include by-laws, minutes, reports, historical summaries, subject files, newsletters and other publications from Synagogues and Jewish organizations throughout the state.    
     
  • Personal papers constitute correspondence, memoirs, family histories, diaries, and other materials which document the Jewish community from the perspective of an individual or family.
     
  •  Photograph collection includes over 4000 photographs, dating back to 1890, which depict families, businesses, religious and social life within the community.
     
  • Oral Histories have recorded the words, songs, and stories of the Jewish community since 1968.

 

 

The Washington State Jewish Historical Society promotes interest in and knowledge of the life, history, and culture of the Jewish people and communities of the State of Washington.

The Society is dedicated to discovering, preserving, and disseminating the history of the Jews of Washington State. This unique history is shared through publications, exhibits, displays, speakers, and tours.

Archives West: Search for Archival / Manuscript Materials

Our Collection Guides search tool has migrated to Archives West.