Washington State Jewish Archives: History of WSJA

The Washington State Jewish Archives (WSJA) was born in 1968 when Elsa Levinson, chairwoman of the Women's Division of the Jewish Federation of Greater Seattle, proposed a project with the Manuscripts and University Archives Division (now Special Collections) of the UW Libraries to collect primary source materials documenting the Jewish community.  The collaborative project  focused on conducting oral history interviews with pioneer and long-time members of Seattle's Jewish community. It soon expanded to collect manuscript and photographic materials as well.  In 1978, Ancestry and Achievement:  An Exhibit of the Early Beginnings of the Seattle Jewish Community was held at Suzzallo Library to showcase the first decade of collecting.  The exhibit received great response from the Jewish community.  Donations to the collection increased, reflecting not only the community in Seattle but Jewish communities throughout Washington State.  

As a corollary to the Jewish History Project, the Washington State Jewish Historical Society (WSJHS) was established in 1980 to promote, develop, and support interest in and study of the history of Jewish communities in Washington State. The WSJHS Archives committee has been instrumental in collecting materials and for a time provided a part-time archivist to develop the collections.  The WSJA are owned and managed by Special Collections as part of the Pacific Northwest Collection and made available to students, academic researchers, and the general public. 

The Washington State Jewish Historical Society promotes interest in and knowledge of the life, history, and culture of the Jewish people and communities in the State of Washington.  

The Society is dedicated to discovering, preserving, and dissemintating this history of the Jews of Washington State.  This unique history is shared through publications, exhibits, displays, speakers, and tours.