Research Guides
Washington State Jewish Archives: Photographs
Students at the B’Nai B’Rith Hillel Foundation Jewish Students Center (UW26512z). Box 1, Folder 8. PH0911. Reva Twersky Hillel Photograph Collection. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.
The Washington State Jewish Archives (WSJA) contains over 4000 photographs dating from the mid -1800s to present day which relate to Jewish life and history in the Pacific Northwest. Subjects represented in the WSJA photograph collections include Jewish families and life-cycle events, Jewish community, religious, and business leaders, Jewish congregations and organizations, Sephardic culture, World War II and the Holocaust, Jewish activism, education, businesses, immigration and emigration and related themes in Pacific Northwest history.
WSJA Photograph Collection Guide
Guide to the Washington State Jewish Archives Photograph Collections
The photographs have been arranged into collections by donor and are described in-depth in the collection guide linked above. This finding aid represents all images in the collection.
Many of the larger collections have their own individual finding aids as well, which are cross-referenced in this guide. Even if you see a finding aid under the name you're looking for, it is always good to also search the Guide to the WSJA Photo Collections for related photos. For example, the Calvo Family Photograph Collection has an individual finding aid, but a researcher who searches for "Calvo" in the Guide will also find images from other collections which pertain to the Calvo family.
See "Searching for Materials" for information on how to search for individual finding aids.
Can I see images online?
Many of the images have been digitized and are available online. Click on the links in finding aids or search the WSJA Digital Collections by keyword.
For information on ordering high-resolution reproductions and permissions for usage, please visit the UW Special Collections pages below.