Psychology: Getting Started
Welcome
Land Acknowledgment
In addition to acknowledging the land on which UW Tacoma is situated via text and video, we encourage everyone to consult Native Land. Folks can also take action to support American Indian and Indigenous students.
Black Lives Matter
View our statement in support of our Black community and other communities of color and learn about related projects such as the Black Lives Matter Collective Storytelling Project. Information on the UW Combined Fund Drive (CFD) supporting Black Lives Matter can be found here.
Supporting Undocumented Students
We are in full agreement with UW President Cauce and will work to support Undocumented Students at every turn. For more information, please see the University's Nondiscrimination Policy and Undocumented Student Resources.
UW Libraries Search with Tips
Tips for Searching:
Once you've run a search, use the "Refine My Results" options on the left side of the page. It's a quick way to drill down to the most useful results without paging through a lot of items you're not really interested in. Options often include:
- Resource type (examples: book, article)
- Library (example: UW Tacoma)
- Creation date
- Language
- Topic
- Classification LCC (Library of Congress call numbers)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM)
DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022-03-18
DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by
The DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Based closely on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, it offers a rich selection of perspectives in an easy-to-use format. The author, an expert on psychiatric diagnosis and assessment, recognizes that psychological distress cannot be reduced to a rubric. The clinician must have empathy, listening skills, the ability to identify symptoms and contextualize them, and a familiarity with the body of knowledge represented by DSM-5. The handbook brings these critical skills together in a well-written, accessible, and reader-friendly volume that is grounded in the latest research and standard of practice. The handbook offers an assortment of approaches to differential diagnosis, and a number of features designed to benefit clinicians in the exam room, including: * A six-step framework for diagnosing patients that proceeds from determining if the symptom is real to establishing the boundary between disorder and normality, with intermediary steps to rule out substance etiology and medical conditions, as well as to determine the primary disorder and to differentiate adjustment disorders from other mental disorders.* Twenty-nine symptom-oriented decision trees that provide detailed decision points to facilitate the process of generating the differential diagnosis based on the presenting symptoms and eliminate formulating premature conclusions.* Sixty-six differential diagnosis tables, one for each of the most important DSM-5 disorders, cross-referenced with the terminal branches of the decision trees presented in the handbook to provide a head-to-head comparison of each disorder, highlighting similarities and differences.* The DSM-5 classification, to facilitate coding and to provide an overview of all of the DSM-5 diagnoses that must be considered in formulating a differential diagnosis.* Alphabetical indexes of the decision trees and differential diagnosis tables to help readers readily locate desired material. DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing DSM-5 disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the differential diagnosis of individual patients. The handbook is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5 collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession.
ISBN: 9781585624621Publication Date: 2013-11-19
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in DSM-5-TR, bringing DSM-5-TR alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. With chapters that correspond to the main DSM-5-TR diagnostic categories (i.e., the first 19 chapters in Section II), this book guides the reader through the complexities of clinical assessment and the many types of contextual information needed to obtain a full diagnostic picture of a patient. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: * The cases and discussions make for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the diagnostic categories described in the specific case. * Cases and their accompanying discussions adhere to a consistent format developed by the editor to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Areas explored in case discussions may include patient history (e.g., present illness, family psychiatric history, medical conditions), mental status exam and laboratory test results, and sex-, gender-, and culture-related issues. Each case closes with one or more diagnoses and a list of suggested readings.* As is often true in real life, the cases are incomplete, and not all diagnoses are clear-cut. The discussions often explore how the case may not entirely fit diagnostic criteria, and what other information might be helpful.* A comprehensive index enables readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5-TR diagnosis.* The book is designed to serve as an auxiliary text in a variety of contexts--from graduate-level psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs to social work curricula. In addition, practicing clinicians can use the book to help firm up their diagnostic skills and to prepare for specialty examinations. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing DSM-5-TR to the examining room.
ISBN: 9781615373628Publication Date: 2023-03-29
Psychology Librarian
Research Help
Connect: Send us your questions and/or schedule a meeting with a librarian!
Help Desk: Stop by the research help desk on the first floor of Tioga Library Building. Find the current hours.
Research Guides: Check out our numerous research guides by subject or by class to learn more about your topic or explore additional topics.
Subject Librarians: Find which librarian is an expert in your specific field(s) of study.
Off-Campus Access
Current UW students, faculty and staff may access online library resources from off campus. Everyone is welcome to visit the library and use materials in the library. This includes access to online databases, e-journals and e-books.
There are two main methods to access resources from off-campus: the proxy service and Husky OnNet. For more detailed information on both, visit Off Campus Access: Help and Support.
Through UW Libraries Website
If you are starting from the UW Libraries website, simply click on the resource you want and you should be prompted for your UW NetID when it is needed. If you routinely access resources away from the libraries website you might want to install the proxy bookmarklet.
Proxy Bookmarklet
The bookmarklet is a snippet of code saved in your browser's bookmarks that lets you start at a resource rather than the UW Libraries website and still route the resource through our proxy service. For information about how to download and use the proxy bookmarklet visit Proxy Bookmarklet Help and Support.
When using Husky OnNet, your computer connects to the Husky OnNet virtual private network that will make your computer location be ‘on-campus’ even when you are off. Husky OnNet is a software application available free for UW students, faculty and staff to download from UWare.
- For a complete introduction visit the Husky OnNet Guide.
- For more specialized questions, such as troubleshooting errors, visit Husky OnNet FAQs.
Configuring Husky OnNet to Access UW-Restricted Library Resources
In order to use Husky OnNet to access UW-restricted library resources, you will need to make one small change to the settings in the OnNet f5 BIG-IP Edge client:
- After following the instructions to Download and Use Husky OnNet, start the OnNet application.
- Before clicking on Connect, make sure the server setting says All Internet Traffic. If it does not, click Change Server at the bottom left.
- In the pop-up window, select All Internet Traffic.
- Click Next
- Click the Connect button
- If you are connected correctly it will say Connected and Server: All Internet Traffic.
From this point, you can browse, search, and connect to any UW-restricted resource as if you are on campus and without using the Libraries off-campus proxy.
If you are connected with UW Campus Network Traffic Only, all connections to UW-restricted resources will be treated as off-campus and will require you to use links from the Libraries website or the proxy bookmarklet.
Be sure to Disconnect from OnNet when you are done and no longer need the connection to the UW network.