- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- Psychology
- Measurement Tools
Psychology: Measurement Tools
Getting started with finding tests & measures
General tips
- Finding tests and measures can be tricky -- give yourself lots of time and don't be shy about asking for help if you need it.
- Be as flexible as you can. If you can't find the exact test you had in mind, could you use something similar instead?
- Remember that sometimes specific tests are only available directly from the authors or publishers. If you are committed to obtaining that exact item, you may need to reach out to them and/or pay a fee to obtain it.
Paths to finding tests
- Find a specific test: Find the exact name of the test, its authors, and other publication information and use the dropdown menus to the left or right of the search bar to enter that specific information -- for example, a title search.
- Search for tests by keywords: Identify variables and other criteria for tests you'd be interested in reviewing and do general searches for those items. Use the filters to the left of your results to narrow down on more specific criteria. See if the database you're in has a field for tests and measures specifically.
Recommended starting points
- Check out recommended books, journals, and databases below.
- PsycTests This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. - PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Tests in PrintPrint resource. Available in multiple libraries. Click on the title above for locations.
Lists all known English-language tests available commercially. Provides information about the tests. Includes references to reviews in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines. - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
Selected Books on Measurement Tools
Assessment Scales in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by Call Number: WM 141 V515a 2006ISBN: 9781841845340Publication Date: 2006-07-07Mental disorders such as attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), depression, and autism have devastating consequences on the lives of children and adolescents. Early assessment of their mental health problems is essential for preventative measures and intervention. This timely, authoritative guide will be of interest to everyone involved in assessing the mental health problems of children and adolescents and the effect that these may have on their daily life. Assessment Scales in Child & Adolescent Psychiatry is a unique compendium which summarizes approximately 150 scales across the field of mental disorders in children and adolescents. Every scale is accompanied by information on the completion of each instrument to allow the reader to see, at a glance, the scope of the scale and its application.
Clinical Assessment for Social Workers 2E by Call Number: HV 40.35 C641 2003ISBN: 9780925065377Publication Date: 2003-07-01Intended for both graduate and undergraduate students, this practical text shows how to incorporate testing and measurement into clinical practice and conduct empirically-based assessments on clients.
Positive Psychological Assessment by Call Number: BF176 .P67 2003ISBN: 9781557989888Publication Date: 2003-03-15Offering a primer for practitioners and researchers, this volume strives to incorporate assessment of human strengths, resources and fulfilments into their work. Contributors examine the scientific underpinnings and practical application of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humour, gratitiude, faith, morality, coping, well-being and quality of life. Vocational and multicultural applications of positive psychological assessment are also discussed, as is the measurement of contextual variables that may facilitate the development or enhancement of human strength. The variety of perspectives offered should be useful to readers who wish to incorporate balance into their assessments and research through the integration of theoretically grounded positive measures.
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences by Call Number: LB3051 .L4543 2014ISBN: 9781610484305Publication Date: 2014-12-05Part I provides an introduction to basic quantitative research methods, including analysis and interpretation of statistical tests associated with each method. Examples of qualitative designs and mixed methods research are also included. A chapter on measurement techniques in education and the social science is provided. Part II of the Handbook includes over a 130 instruments organized under 40 topics, extracted from the research literature. Each instrument is discussed in detail concerning its measurement characteristics used in its development. A section also includes Instruments Available through Commercial Organizations, which provide the latest sources for teacher and principal evaluation.
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures by Call Number: RC473.P78 A46 2008ISBN: 9781585622184Publication Date: 2007-12-07The Handbook of Psychiatric Measures offers a concise summary of key evaluations that you can easily incorporate into your daily practice. The measures will enhance the quality of patient care assisting you, both in diagnosis and assessment of outcomes. Comprising a wide range of methods available for assessing persons with mental health problems, the Handbook contains more than 275 rating methods, from the Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale to the Zung Self-Rating Depression Scale.
Selected Journals on Measurement Tools
- The mental measurements yearbook.Call Number: Z5814.P8 M43
- Test critiques.Call Number: BF176 .T418
- Tests in print.Call Number: Z5814.E9 T47Contains information about tests in education and psychology (does not contain full text of the tests)