- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- Psychology
- Resources & search tips
Psychology: Resources & search tips
Resources: Descriptions and Search Tips
| Resources: Descriptions and Search Tips | ||
| Sources | Description | Search Tips |
| Assessment Center | free online tool for capturing participant data securely, includes ability to incorporate included or custom instruments (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measuurement Information System (PROMIS), Quality of Life in Neurological Diseases (Neuro-QOL), NIH Toolbox) | Register for free account to use. Create a study template to browse by Domain (variable) |
| Atlas of Integrated Behavioral Health Care Quality Measures (IBHC Measures Atlas) | supports the field of integrated behavioral health care measurement (AHRQ) | Browse by Measure, Functional Domain, or what you want to do |
CINAHL Plus  |
indexes Nursing and Allied Health literature and provides the detailed descriptions of over 350 popular instruments. |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym and limit to the Publication Type: Questionnaire/Scale [documents with partial or complete examples of questionnaires or scales] or Research Instrument [special CINAHL records that describe research instruments and may have an instrument appended]; Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Instrumentation field and/or limit to the Publication Type: Tests/Questionnaires; OR search by keyword in the Instrumentation Index (click on More at the navigation bar at the top of the page and select Indexes) Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and additional subject headings such as (MH "Reliability and Validity+"); OR limit search results by selecting Publication Types: Research Instrument Utilization or Research Instrument Validation |
| ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) |
largest database of education literature in the world; includes a variety of document types including journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books NOTE: ERIC often links to full text documents. Many of the non-journal documents in the ED (ERIC Document) series, as noted in the Accession Number field, can be found at www.eric.ed.gov or in the UW Libraries Microform and Newspapers Collection by series number. |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym and limit to Publication Type: Tests/Questionnaires [articles where an instrument is included] Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and limit results to Publication Type: Test/Questionnaires Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and additional keyword or thesaurus terms such as test validity, content validity, construct validity, interrater reliability, test reliability, test reviews, etc. in the Descriptor field |
| ETS Test Collection |
database of descriptive information for over 20,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education NOTE: instruments available through Tests in Microfiche (TIM) are indicated as such by an entry in the Acronym or Order Information field of the individual record. Use the ETS Call Number to find the correct microfiche in the Suzzallo Library (see below under Tests in Microfiche) |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in SubjectSearch |
| Internet search engine | Find a Specific Test Search by keyword; use Advanced Search to limit to file type such as pdf, or domain such as edu | |
| Grid-Enabled Measures Database (GEM) | a web-based collaborative tool containing behavioral, social science, and other relevant scientific measures (sponsored by the National Cancer Institute) |
Find a Specific Test//Find Test Reviews Search by keyword; browse by name of instrument Find Test for a Variable search or browse by Construct or Measure |
| Health Services & Sciences Research Resources | contains information on instruments/indexes employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources. |
Find a Specific Test Search Instrument/Indices only or browse (click Browse link in the left navigation column) the Instrument/Indices database By Title or By Source Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in Instrument/Indices only |
| Medical Outcomes Trust | not for profit organization dedicated to improving health and health care by promoting the science of outcomes measurement | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable Browse the list of instruments on the Instruments page; brief descriptions of the instruments and links to more information, including publisher, are included |
| ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text |
comprehensive index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study, 1861-present. More than 1 million full text dissertations available, most from 1997 forward, with a strong retrospective collection for older works. |
Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable Search by instrument name or by variable. Check the appendices of dissertations for the full-text instruments used. |
| PsycInfo |
produced by the American Psychological Corporation, index of citations to the international literature of psychology |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym in one search box; in another search box type in the word ‘appended’ and select the TM (Tests and Measures) field. OR Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Tests and Measures field Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name in the Tests & Measures or Keyword or Abstract fields; add additional thesauraus terms such as Test Validity, Test Reliability in the Subjects field |
| PsycTESTS |
produced by the American Psychological Corporation, specialized database containing information about psychological tests and measures |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym in the Title or Test Acronym field accordingly Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Subject, Construct, or the Test Purpose field Find Test Reviewsearch by instrument name or acronym in the Title or Test Acronym field accordingly;add additional thesauraus terms such as Test Validity, Test Reliability in the Subjects field |
| PubMed | biomedical database including MEDLINE |
Find Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym and terms such as scale, observation, questionnaire, etc. Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and additional keywords or Medical Subject Heading (MESH) terms such as scale, observation, questionnaire, psychological tests[mh], etc. Find Test Reviews Use keywords such as validity, reliability or use MeSH terms such as validation studies[pt], validation studies as topic[mh], reproducibility of results[mh] |
| RAND Health | "All of the surveys and tools from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial purposes). Some materials listed are not available from RAND Health. Links will take you to other websites, where you will find instructions for use." | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable Click on Surveys, browse by categories such as quality of life |
| REDCap Shared Library |
repository for REDCap data collection instruments and forms that can be downloaded and used by researchers at REDCap partner institutions. | Find a Specific Test Search by keyword or browse by alphabetical listings of tests |
| Sociological Abstracts |
bibliographic database of over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, book reviews and selected sociology books on sociology, social welfare, social planning and development. |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name and additional terms such as Measures (Instruments) in the Subject Headings field Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and additional terms such as Measures (Instruments) in the Subject Headings field OR questionnaire*, test*, scale*, measure*, etc. in the Identifier field Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name or acronym and additional thesaurus terms such as reliability, validity, etc. in the Subject Heading field |
| Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database | database of over 225 questionnaires and interviews intended to assist treatment providers and researchers with screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Measures that are widely used and have proven reliability and validity are noted with a gold star. |
Find a Specific Test Search or browse by instrument name or acronym; view full records to see the Use & Availability and Copy of Instrument fields Find Test for a Variable Search by variable Find Test Reviews Search or browse by instrument name or acronym; brief synopsis of reliability and validity included; references provided |
| Test Reviews Online | indexes test review references MMY, TIP, Test Critiques | Find Test Reviews Search by keyword or browse by alphabetical or category listings of tests |
| UW Libraries Catalog | cumulative holdings of the University of Washington Libraries. Includes books, journals, audiovisual items, computer files and music. | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable/Find Test Reviews Search by keyword and additional terms such as health surveys, psychological tests, measurements, questionnaires, educational tests, social surveys, etc. |
| Web of Science |
multidisciplinary databases covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references. |
Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name and sort results by times cited; view original articles describing the instrument development for clues on how to obtain Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and limit Find Test Reviews Run Cited Reference Search on the original article describing the instrument to find citing articles that may discuss validity and/or reliability of the instrument; OR search by instrument name in the Title field and additional terms such as validity, validation, reliability, etc. in the Topic field |
| Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures | brief descriptions of education, psychocology, and social science mental measurement tests | Find Test for a Variable Browse by subject or author indexes; Browse the Title Index to the Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures for listings in all volumes. |
| Instruments for Clinical Health Care Research | includes discussions of issues surrounding clinical research including working with disadvantaged populations, assessing health promotion outcomes, and linguistic translation; chapters include appendices of tables comparing instruments covered | Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews general index includes instrument titles and score |
| Instruments for Measuring Nursing Practice and Other Health Care Variables WY 20.5 U58i 1979 Health Books, Bothell/CCC Stacks | compilation of nursing research instruments produced by the Western Council on Higher Education for Nursing | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse table of contents (psychological and physiological categories) or indexes (author, title, keyword for psychosocial instruments, by title, body system for phsyiological instuments) |
| Instruments for Use in Nursing Education ResearchWY 18.3 I59 1979 Health Books, Bothell/CCC Stacks | compilation of nursing education research instruments produced by the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education; includes statistical glossary | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews author and key concept indexes |
| Major Psychological Assessment Instruments | presents background, discussions, and case samples to aid in the competent use of the 11 instruments included | Find Test for a Variable author and subject indexes |
| Measures for Clinical Practice | provides an extensive collection of more than 400 rapid assessment instruments (RAIs), including questionnaires and scales, which assess problems commonly encountered in clinical practice | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse lists of instruments by population (family, couples, children, adults), cross-index by problem area, or table of contents |
| Measuring Disease: a review of disease-specific quality of life measurement scales | instruments grouped in chapters by specific condition: cancers, psychiatric conditons and psychological morbidity, respiratory conditions, neurological conditions, rheumatological conditions, cardiovascular conditions, and miscellaneous conditions |
Find a Specific Test Browse by instrument name in the appendix: A Selection of Useful Scale Distributors and Addresses Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse table of contents categorized by disease type; OR browse index for keyword or instrument name |
| Measuring Health: a guide to rating scales and questionnaires | reviews of subjective health measurements including critical comparisons of instruments measuring the same variable; instruments grouped by chapter topic and listed in table of contents | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse table of contents categorized by general topic such as Social Health and Pain; OR browse index for keyword or instrument name |
| Measuring Health: a review of quality of life measurement scales | comprehensive guide to measures of health and functioning, including psychological and emotional well-being, social networks and support |
Find a Specific Test Browse by instrument name in the appendix: A Selection of Useful Scale Distributors Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse table of contents categorized by general topics such as Health Status or Life Satisfaction and Morale; OR browse index by keyword or instrument name |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook |
descriptive information and review of tests including validity and reliability NOTE: each edition is unique, newer editions do not replace older ones |
Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse indexes: including title or acronym of test, test author, subject index, score (variable) index; review author, reference within a review |
| Source Book of Geriatric Assessment WT 150 I85e 1984 Health Books | collection of assessment instruments for the elderly in English and French; sponsored with the WHO |
Find a Specific Test Browse categorized table of contents for instrument name Find Test for a Variable Browse index of classification criteria such as mood author index |
| Test Critiques | companion reference to Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business | Find Test Reviews Browse the table of contents by test or reviewer name OR browse the cumaltive index in the most recent volume to find entries in all volumes |
| Tests in Microfiche Microform & Newspaper Collections (call number M-3211) | tests not commercially available including out-of-print tests | Find a Specific Test Browse results of a search within ETS Test Collection database; instruments available in Tests in Microfiche are indicated as such in the Availability field – use the ETS Call Number, ex TC011666, to find the correct microfiche in the Microforms and Newspaper Collection under Section M-3211 |
| Tests in Print | comprehensive bibliography to commercially available English language tests in print (companion index of MMY) | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable/Find Test Reviews Browse indexes: title, acronym, subject, author, publisher, score |
| Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business | descriptive information on assessment instruments for psychologists, educators, and human resources personnel | Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable several indexes to search by including test title, author, publisher, area of focus (eg. Psychology: personality) |
Resources: Formats and Question Type
Contact Your Library Liaison for More Information
Find your library liaison or submit a question to via this Ask Us.