Linguistics: Language Learning and Teaching

This state-of-the-art volume offers a comprehensive, accessible, and uniquely interdisciplinary examination of social factors' role in second language acquisition (SLA) through different theoretical paradigms, methodological traditions, populations, contexts, and language groups. Top scholars from around the world synthesize current and past work, contextualize the central issues, and set the future research agenda on second language variation, including languages studied or taught less commonly. This will be an indispensable resource to scholars and advanced students of SLA, applied linguistics, education, and other fields interested in the social aspects of language learning in research practice and instruction.

Technology- mediated language learning has matured over the past few decades, with various tools and contexts now widely used in language education for all ages and levels. Many of today's language learners have experienced technology as an ever- present feature both within and beyond the classroom, highlighting how the role of technology has expanded into many daily activities, and underscoring how research in Second Language Acquisition (SLA) can inform and support the use of established and emerging technologies. The role of technology in language learning has continued to grow, with the recent COVID- 19 global pandemic further demonstrating the potential contributions of technology for supporting and facilitating second language development. Answering this increasing interest, this Handbook provides students, teachers, and scholars with a comprehensive collection of chapters on foundational topics and key issues related to technology, SLA, and where relevant, pedagogical applications. Chapter 25 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license available at http: //www.taylorfrancis.com

This book introduces readers to the concept of task-based language teaching (TBLT), a learner-centred and experiential approach to language teaching and learning. Based on the premise that language learners can enhance their second language acquisition (SLA) through engagement in communicative tasks that compel them to use language for themselves, TBLT stands in contrast to more traditional approaches. Accessible and comprehensive, this book provides a foundational overview of the principles and practice of TBLT and demystifies what TBLT looks like in the classroom. Complete with questions for reflection, pedagogical extensions for application in real classrooms and further reading suggestions in every chapter, this valuable and informative text is vital for anyone interested in TBLT, whether as students, researchers or teachers.

The Handbook of Second and Foreign Language Writing is an authoritative reference compendium of the theory and research on second and foreign language writing that can be of value to researchers, professionals, and graduate students. It is intended both as a retrospective critical reflection that can situate research on L2 writing in its historical context and provide a state of the art view of past achievements, and as a prospective critical analysis of what lies ahead in terms of theory, research, and applications.  Accordingly, the Handbook aims to provide (i) foundational information on the emergence and subsequent evolution of the field, (ii) state-of-the-art surveys of available theoretical and research (basic and applied) insights, (iii) overviews of research methods in L2 writing research, (iv) critical reflections on future developments, and (iv) explorations of existing and emerging disciplinary interfaces with other fields of inquiry.

The Routledge Handbook of Instructed Second Language Acquisition is the first collection of state-of-the-art papers pertaining to Instructed Second Language Acquisition (ISLA). Written by 45 world-renowned experts, the entries are full-length articles detailing pertinent issues with up-to-date references. Each chapter serves three purposes: (1) provide a review of current literature and discussions of cutting edge issues; (2) share the authors' understanding of, and approaches to, the issues; and (3) provide direct links between research and practice. In short, based on the chapters in this handbook, ISLA has attained a level of theoretical and methodological maturity that provides a solid foundation for future empirical and pedagogical discovery. This handbook is the ideal resource for researchers, graduate students, upper-level undergraduate students, teachers, and teacher-educators who are interested in second language learning and teaching. .