Skip to main content
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (2006)
14 volumes in print or search online. Find information on languages and language families under the section "Languages of the World". Print located in Suzzallo Reference P216 .T73 1996
Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics
Authoritative research guides to linguistics topics from Oxford University. Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (2nd ed.)
3 volumes in print or search online. Print is located in Suzzallo Reference P29 .I58 2003
"Glottopedia is a freely editable encyclopedia for linguists by linguists that is currently being built up. It will contain dictionary articles on all technical terms of linguistics and is multilingual. In addition, there are survey articles, biographical articles and language articles, potentially on all linguists and all languages."
Encyclopedia of Language Development (2014)
Covers the breadth of theory and research on language development from birth through adulthood, as well as their practical application.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education (2008)
Brings forth the newest developments in the field, including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.
Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia (3rd ed.)
An encyclopedia covering the major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics. It includes the seventy nine entries providing coverage of the topics and sub-topics of the field. It is suitable for specialists and non-specialists alike.
Encyclopedia of Semiotics (1998)
Comprehensive reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies. Entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture. Articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools of thought, and issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics (2014)
Spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, and sociolinguistics. Clear examples—and diagrams where appropriate—help to convey the meanings of even the most technical terms. It also incorporates entries on key scholars of linguistics, both ancient and modern, summarising their specialisms and achievements.
Glossary of Linguistic Terms
Free online linguistics glossary from the SIL's LinguaLinks Library 5.0
Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology
Print only--Suzzallo Reference P216 .T73 1996
The Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Northeast (2001)
Overview of the histories, cultures, and contemporary issues facing the region's Native peoples. It includes bibliographies of the most important sources and contact information for Native communities and organizations.
The Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Southeast (2001)
Historical overview which includes the Oklahoma experience of the Five Tribes removed from the Southeast.
Countries and Their Cultures (2001)
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology (2006)
Collection of over 1000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Latin America (2010)
Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (2008)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural and linguistic issues.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures (1996)
Descriptions of more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Ethnic Groups of North, East, and Central Asia (2014)
Encyclopedic coverage of a wide array of Central, North, and East Asian ethnic groups. For each group, an overview covers population, languages and religions, parallels with other groups, origins and early development, major historic events, and cultural belief systems, as well as typical ways of life, relations with neighboring groups, politics and recent history, notable challenges, and demographic trends.
Native Peoples of the World (2013)
Examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups. It highlights the complex relationships between native groups and the physical and social environments in which they live and provides historic and contemporary information on specific groups, countries, and issues.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (2009)
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.