Skip to Main Content
China Core Newspapers 中国重要报纸全文数据库 (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
Articles in mainland China newspapers, covering literature, history, philosophy, economics, politics, law and education from 2000 to present. See User Guide
To switch to an English language interface, use the pull-down language menu in the top right corner.
Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
Early Chinese Periodicals Online (ECPO)
Pre-1949 Chinese-language magazines and xiaobao 小報 (entertainment newspapers) and some China-based foreign-language newspapers. Combines the following databases: 1. “Chinese Women’s Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican Period” (WoMag); 2. Xiaobao; 3. Modern History Databases 近代史數位資料庫; 4. Funü zazhi 婦女雜誌 (Women's Magazine)
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
Full-text searchable open access database of Chinese language newspapers from the first half of the 20th century (the vast majority from the Republican period, 1912-1949). Currently includes 22 publications from various Chinese cities. Part of East View's Global Press Archive; made open access with the sponsorship of the Center for Research Libraries.
Modern History Data Platform 抗日战争与近代中日关系文献数据平台 [Data Platform for Documents on the War of Resistance against Japan and Modern Sino-Japanese Relations]
An open access database providing a large number of books, newspapers, and magazines, and a smaller number of archival documents, images, and audiovisual materials, mostly from the first half of the 20th century. Materials relate to many topics, not just the second Sino-Japanese War and modern Sino-Japanese relations. It includes many literary works from the period. Individual registration is required to download materials (as JPG files). Some types of sources are searchable by tables of contents; none support full-text search.
North-China Daily News
Facsimile reproductions of the Shanghai-published English language newspaper North-China Daily News, from 1881 to 1937. Digitized by the Center for Research Libraries.
Old Hong Kong Newspapers 香港舊報紙
The full-text accessible old Hong Kong newspaper database (not including journals/magazines).
People's Daily Online 人民日报 This link opens in a new window
Official newspaper of the central government of China from 1946 to present.
Zhongguo li shi wen xian zong ku : Jin dai bao zhi shu ju ku This link opens in a new window
中国历史文献总库: 近代报纸数据库一辑 Chinese Historical Documents: Database of Modern Chinese Newspapers, Series 1 (alternative title: Modern newspaper in China, 1840-1949)
Includes full text of 50 Chinese language newspapers from the Republican period (1912-1949).
Bibliography of Online Historical Newspapers
Print Journals and Newspapers Holdings List
The East Asia Library has one of the largest late Qing and the Republican (1912-1949) journal and newspapers collections in North America.
Two lists are available by clicking the links below:
Online News Sources: Mainland China
Online News Sources: Hong Kong
Online News Sources: Taiwan
Online News Sources: International