Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
E-books: General and Post-1949
Index of Chinese books and articles plus some video; some fulltext. See User Guide
Harvard Library Chinese Digitization Projects
Includes all 4,200 titles (53,000 stitch-bound volumes) of the Harvard-Yenching Library's Chinese Rare Book Collection, among other collections.
Collection of digital facsimiles of copyright-free books and other material, including Chinese language works. Click "Log In" in top right corner and select University of Washington; in Advanced Catalog Search, choose to filter results by Language. The UW catalog links to some texts, though searching directly in HathiTrust is more reliable.
National Taiwan University Library Open Access E-Books 國立臺灣大學圖書館公開取用電子書
Provides open-access books, reference resources, government publications, research reports, theses, etc. Many open-access books are in English, so to find Chinese books, keyword searches can be more effective than browsing.
Studies on Ethnic Groups in China (University of Washington Press series)
Includes twenty English-language scholarly books presenting research from a wide variety of disciplines on ethnic groups and ethnic relations in China. Works are both historical and contemporary and cover topics ranging from identity, local relations, folk literature, and religion to medicine, governance, education, and economic development.
E-Books: Republican Period (1912-1949)
Text Databases (with full-text search; post-1949)
Catalogs and Finding Tools
Search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use this search to find books and other materials not available in UW and Summit Libraries. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not owned by UW Libraries or its borrowing partners.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Enter keywords in the search box at the top ("Search Library of Congress Subject Headings") to find relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings. Then from the UW Library home page, select Advanced Search then Browse Search. Choose "Browse by - Subject" in the drop-down menu. Enter your Library of Congress Subject Heading to browse publications relating to this subject. Try multiple subject headings: some headings are similar or overlapping.
Or, do a keyword search in the UW catalog, click on a book or journal that matches your needs, then click on relevant subjects listed under "LCSH and PCI subjects" to find publications on similar topics.
Library of Congress Classification (call numbers)
Click on a relevant category to open a PDF file with more detailed call number breakdowns. Look for the call number ranges of fields of interest (e.g. Chinese literature - collections: PL2450-2659). Then from the UW Library home page, select Advanced Search then Browse Search. Choose "Browse by - Library of Congress call numbers" in the drop-down menu. Enter a call number from your selected range. Use the arrows in the bottom right corner to browse forwards or backwards. This allows you to virtually browse the shelves of not just the library stacks, but auxiliary storage locations also.
Or, identify call numbers of interest through keyword searches in the UW or Worldcat catalogs, and browse the UW catalog using the same method.