Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; tools for storing and organizing sources.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Scanning Services
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info and tools for scholarly publishing and open-access publishing alternatives.
Talk to a librarian with expertise in your subject area for help with your research.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat online now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Articles & E-prints
Article Databases & Indexes
Books & E-Books
Journals in Physics/Astronomy
Dissertations & Theses
Astronomy Web Resources
Physics Web Resources
How Do I?...
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Physics and Astronomy
Physics and Astronomy: Home
Resources for beginning research in Physics and Astronomy, including databases, pre-prints, journals, and websites.
PIA03606: Most Detailed Image of the Crab Nebula
Starting Points & Top Resources
ADS (Astrophysics Data System)
Indexes, abstracts, and e-prints in astronomy, astrophysics, physics & geophysics. Note: E-prints may not be refereed.
Open access repository of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Partially supported by UW Libraries.
American Institute of Physics publications
Web of Science
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Publications in physics, engineering, communications, computer science, information technology, and related fields.
Articles and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Physics and Astronomy Librarian
Reference & Research Services
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
Related Links & Guides
Last Updated Aug 8, 2019
6666 views this year
Last Updated Oct 9, 2019
1602 views this year
Mathematics, Pure and Applied
Last Updated Jul 10, 2019
2719 views this year
Statistics, Pure and Applied
Last Updated Jul 10, 2019
705 views this year
Suzzallo and Allen Libraries
Mathematics Research Library
The Mathematics Research Library provides research help and access to materials in Applied Mathematics, Mathematics, and Statistics.
A place to collaborate and connect with fellow students and faculty on research projects. A hub of support for graduate student research. A venue for workshop and presentation opportunities.
Articles & E-prints >>
Aug 8, 2019 11:55 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.