Research Guides
History : Asia: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Asian history.
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Major encyclopedia: Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Asian History
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online
Quick Info: Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
This link opens in a new window
- Mongol Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Asian History
- This link opens in a new window
East Asia
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Chinese History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Korean War
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Democratic People's Republic of Korea
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Japan to 1945
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Postwar Japan
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Taiwan
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Tibet
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern Japan
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Traditional Chinese Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Samurai: An Encyclopedia of Japan's Cultured Warriors
- This link opens in a new window
Quick Info: Encyclopedias
South Asia
- Encyclopedia of India
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Bangladesh
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Pakistan
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern India
- This link opens in a new window
South East Asia
- Cambodian Genocide: The Essential Reference Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Indonesia in the Pacific War
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of East Timor
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Indonesia
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Malaysia
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Singapore
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Philippines
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern Philippines
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Filipina/x/o American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Central Asia
- Historical Dictionary of Uzbekistan
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Companion to Chinese History
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Japanese History
- This link opens in a new window
- Cultural Revolution: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ming World
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Early Southeast Asia
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Japanese Culture and Society
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Modern Korean History
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Nationalism in East and Southeast Asia
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of the History of Colonialism in South Asia
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of the Mongols and Central-Eastern Europe
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Trauma in East Asia
- This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions
- Cultural Revolution: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Gandhi: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Mao: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern India: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Pakistan: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Samurai: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Silk Road: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Southeast Asia: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window