Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- History : Asia
- Primary Sources - East Asia
History : Asia: Primary Sources - East Asia
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Asian history.
Images: 1934 cover of Ling Long, 1933 issue of The North China Herald courtesy of Chinese Newspapers Collection & Korean War leaflet courtesty of Korean War Propaganda Leaflets
East Asian Collections
Major collections:
- Oriental Economist Digital Archive 1934-1985
This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Archives Editions: East & Southeast Asia
- This link opens in a new window
Hong Kong
Taiwan
For additional sources see Primary Sources: History of Taiwan (Frog in a Well).
China
The sources listed here are primarily in English. For an extensive list of Chinese language sources see the Chinese Studies research guide.
Major collections:
- China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960-1998
- This link opens in a new window
- Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Great Britain. Foreign Office. General correspondence, political. China, 1906-1922.
- This link opens in a new window
- Late Qing Dynasty Periodicals 晚清期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- People's Daily Online, 1947-
- This link opens in a new window
- Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Scripta Sinica (Academia Sinica) 中央研究院漢籍電子文獻資料庫 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Japan
The sources listed here are primarily in English. For an extensive list of Japanese language sources see the Japan Studies research guide. For material on the Hiroshima and Nagasaki atomic bombs see the Military History research guide.
Major collections:
- Japan Times Archives 1897-2021
- This link opens in a new window
- Yomidasu rekishikan / ヨミダス歴史館
- This link opens in a new window
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960-1976
- This link opens in a new window
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
- This link opens in a new window
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
- This link opens in a new window
Korea
Major collections:
- Choson Ilbo Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- Korea Times 1956-2016
- This link opens in a new window
- Hanguk ui chisik kontench Korean database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Korea Political & Economic Reports, 1882-1970
- This link opens in a new window
- Korean History & Culture Research Database (ZININZIN)
- This link opens in a new window
- Kyongsong Ilbo / Keijō nippō / 京城日報
- This link opens in a new window
- United States and the Two Koreas: 1969-2000
- This link opens in a new window
- United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
- This link opens in a new window