Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Southeast Asian Studies
- Government/NGO Resources
Southeast Asian Studies: Government/NGO Resources
A guide to resources and research on Southeast Asia
US Government Sources
Note: most US government publications are now cataloged and can be searched in the Worldcat catalog.
- American Rhetoric: Site SearchSearchable database speeches by US personalities.
- CIA FOIA Electronic Reading RoomDocuments declassified under the Freedom of Information Act.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowUW Restricted. Index to Congressional testimony and other documentation submitted during the legislative process.
- Cold War International History Project Digital ArchiveWilson Center. Includes collections on American War in Viet Nam.
- US Declassified Documents OnlineUS Declassified Documents Online makes it possible for researchers to easily and quickly access and review selected previously classified government documents online. This digital collection covers post-World War II domestic and foreign policy studies.
- Digital National Security ArchiveUW Resticted access to sets of declassified US national security documentation.
- DTIC Public Technical ReportsDefense Technical Information Center database of declassified defense reports.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesU.S.Department of State. Office of the Historian
- US Government Printing OfficeSearchable database of US government publications
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983.
- THOMAS (Library of Congress)Legislative bill-tracker.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new windowCollection of US Congressional documents, 1817 - 1980.
- USAID Document databaseSearchable by country
Government/Inter-Governmental and Non-Governmental Organizations
- Annuaire des organisations internationales = Yearbook of international organizationsDirectory of international organizations
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowPublications and datasets by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development & affiliated agencies.
- Asian Development Bank. Southeast Asia Working PapersAvailable on Factiva, 2016-
- Association of Southeast Asian NationsASEAN website
- Economic Outlook for Southeast Asia, China and IndiaAvailable online 2010-
- IDRC Southeast and East AsiaCanadian government development agency.
- Human Rights Documents This link opens in a new windowWide variety of documents from hundreds of non-governmental organizations concerned with human rights and social justice around the world.
- IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new windowGovernment finance, trade, and balance of payments data from the International Monetary Fund.
- OpenDevelopment MekongOpen data site for greater Mekong region, including Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Viet Nam.
- SEAMEO: Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization(SEAMEO) was established on 30 November 1965 as a chartered international organisation whose purpose is to promote cooperation in education, science and culture in the Southeast Asian region.
- SEAMEO SPAFA Regional Centre for Archaeology and Fine ArtsSEAMEO SPAFA, Regional Centre for Archaeology and Fine Arts, is part of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO), an international organization dedicated to promoting co-operation in education, science and culture in Southeast Asia.
- UN Treaty Bodies DatabaseSearch for human rights documentation by country
- Worldwide NGO DirectoryThe World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO). Lists NGOs by region
- Thailand Vietnam Socio Economic PanelGerman foundation supported socio-economic publications and data.
- International Crisis GroupThe International Crisis Group is an independent organisation working to prevent wars and shape policies that will build a more peaceful world.
- The Border ConsortiumTBC provided support to refugees from Burma/Myanmar lin nine camps in western Thailand, and development in conflict-affected areas of the region.
- FORSEAForces of Renewal for Southeast. Asia. Southeast Asian democrats and rights campaigners committed to making our region fair, just and democratic.
SE Asia Government Legal/Statistical Resources
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Social-science data and statistics from a variety of sources. Includes Claritas Consumer Profiles.
- IPUMS InternationalIntegrated Public Use Microdata Series. International Census Microdata for Social and Economic Research.
- UNDATA"Brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point."
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database on development data.
- Central Statistical OrganiationMyanmar Ministry of National Planning and Economic Development
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowIdentifies sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources
- Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.
- Myanmar Information Management UnitIncludes publications from 2014 census of population and housing.
- Statistics SingaporeThe Gateway to Singapore Official Statistics
- Statistics ThailandThe National Statistical Office of Thailand
Useful NGO Resources
- Lowy Institute for International PolicyDownloadable pdfs on contemporary policy issues in Southeast Asia
- Bangkok Research Center,Institute of Developing Economies. Japan External Trade Organization