Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Southeast Asian Studies: Archives located in the Southeast Asia Section

A guide to resources and research on Southeast Asia

Southeast Asian Archives located in the Southeast Asia Collection

Please contact the Southeast Asian Librarian for questions about accessing these materials.

 

Southeast Asia (multiple countries)

Indochina Maps and Aerial Photographs

A Collection of French Colonial maps and aerial photographs of Indochina from the 1930s and 1940s.

Indonesia

Daniel Lev Collection

Daniel S. Lev was a scholar of Indonesia and a professor of political science at the University of Washington.  Some of his papers are held in Special Collections, but the Southeast Asia section holds the remainder of this collection.  Please contact the Southeast Asian Librarian for access.

Pak Tristuti Manuscripts

Tristuti Rachmadi (1939-2009) was a prominent shadow master (dalang) and political dissident.  Tristuti wrote hundreds of wayang scripts, circulated discreetly and anonymously among dalang communities.

Vietnam

Bob Jones Collection

The Indochina collection of Robert Jones III was acquired by the University of Washington Libraries in 2013.   Besides some 4,000 monograph titles, the collection includes extensive journal holdings, including the Huế newspaper Lập Trường: tuần báo chính trị, văn hóa, xã hội, Huế,1964- (recently digitized by the Center for Research Libraries and available to CRL member libraries), and some working files from Jones' time with the CORDS administration in Saigon.

Lewis M. Stern Office Files Collection

This collection contains the office files created between approximately 1980 and 2001, by Lewis M. (Lew) Stern when he worked in various intelligence roles for the U.S. government, focusing on Southeast Asia, and particularly on Vietnam and Cambodia.

Nguyễn Đình Hòa Collection

Nguyễn Đình Hòa (1924-2000) was a Vietnamese linguist and professor who published multiple books on the Vietnamese language.  This collection contains some of his personal collection of papers and research materials. 

Thế Phong Collection

Thế Phong is one pen-name of Đỗ Mạnh Tường, born July 10, 1932, in Yên Bái, Việt Nam.  He also uses the pen-names Tương Huyền, Đường Bá Bổn, and Đinh Bạch Dân (Source: https://quansachmuathu.vn/the-phong).  Thế Phong worked as a journalist and literary contributor to various newspapers, in addition to publishing over 50 collections of poetry, short stories, literary criticism, and translation.