Skip to main content
Individual study space @ Research Commons now available by reservation. All other Libraries spaces are closed. Online resources and support are available 24/7! UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Web Resources - General biology
Basics of biology (2004)
Introduction to the science of biology. Details the history of biology, as well as many of the field's basic theories and concepts for students. Demonstrates the modern tools and techniques that biologists use today. Presents the most noteworthy discoveries in biology.
Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America (2001)
This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 plants and animals identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Encyclopedia of adaptations in the natural world (2010)
Covers the key survival challenges all organisms face; includes specific adaptations from all forms of life, including animals, plants, bacteria, algae, fungi, and viruses.
Encyclopedia of invasive species (2011)
Provides information on invasive plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms in the United States, which are threatening native ecosystems, agriculture, economies, and human health.
Environmental encyclopedia (2011)
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of genetics, from Mendel to the decoding of the human genome. Explains the workings of genes and chromosomes, genetic diseases, and biotechnology. Also covers the ethical, legal, and social issues connected to genetic science.
Global Invasive Species Database
Aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities.
Nature and Wildlife
Covers global warming and its effects on plants and animals, including habitat loss, biodiversity, extinctions and health of the organism.