Skip to main content
Individual study space @ Research Commons now available by reservation. All other Libraries spaces are closed. Online resources and support are available 24/7! UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Web Resources - Botany (plants)
Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America (2001)
This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 plants and animals identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Encyclopedia of invasive species (2011)
Provides information on invasive plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms in the United States, which are threatening native ecosystems, agriculture, economies, and human health.
Global Invasive Species Database
Aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities.
Plant Information Online
features information on where to buy plants and seeds, links to more than 2,000 North American seed and nursery farms, more than 300,000 citations to plants in science and garden magazines and books, and links to expert-selected websites on growing plants in all regions of the United States and Canada. Free access provided by the University of Minnesota.
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of plant sciences, from forensic botany to genetic engineering, from wheat to kudzu. Includes articles on careers related to plant sciences and important individuals, as well as topics from acid rain to wood products.
Plants of Western Washington
This collection consists of nearly 600 views of plants commonly found in Western Washington. Most provide "aspect" level identification such that in most cases, a person with a little training could identify the plant illustrated to species. Considerable ecological information is also provided.
USDA Plant Image Gallery
A searchable database of plant images from around the world, with emphasis on the USA and North America.