Research Guides
History : Military: Home
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for military history.
Welcome!
Citation & Writing Help
Historians generally use the Chicago Style format. For more citation info see Citing Sources.
Schedule a writing center appointment.
Additional information on researching & writing.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: world war 1914 conscientious objectors
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "battle of adwa".
- By Author - Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "mountcastle clay"
Starting Points: Journal Articles
The following research databases will help you identify articles on military history. Additional research databases are listed under Articles.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBest database to articles written on American & Canadian history
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBest database to articles written on modern world history (Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe & Latin America from 1450 onward)
- Oxford Bibliographies: Military HistoryScholar recommended books & articles on selected military forces, battles, campaigns, wars, people & more.
Starting Points - Primary Sources
This is a small sampling of primary sources dealing with military history. Additional sources are listed under the various Primary Sources sections of this guide.
Open Scholarship & Digital History Librarian
New History Book of the Day
Loading ...