Civil and Environmental Engineering: Books, E-Books & Textbooks

UW Libraries Search: find print & online resources owned by UW and beyond.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources and Open Textbooks: Open Educational Resources in Engineering

Adopting and Creating Open Educational Resources (OER)

Online Books in Engineering

We have hundreds of e-books available online for research in Engineering.

Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides online access to engineering and science reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.

Knovel also provides full text access to many titles from the Transportation Research Board, such as the Highway Capacity Manual and from AASHTO, such as Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing (2016 Edition).
ASM Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
Metals and materials handbooks, including engineered materials.

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis (taylorfrancis.com) is the new platform for Taylor & Francis eBooks, offering 90,000+ titles.
E-books in this collection cover the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, Engineering, and Medicine. You will also find STEM content from CRC Press (formerly on CRCnetBASE) including the ENGnetBASE collection as well as other publishers

Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science
Engineering & computer science works.

How to Write a Good Scientific Paper: download in PDF
Author(s): Chris A. Mack
How to Write a Good Scientific Paper by Chris A. Mack is a valuable resource for all students and faculty in science and engineering. SPIE is pleased to make it available here at no charge as a PDF eBook. As Dr. Mack explains, “Many scientists and engineers consider themselves poor writers or find the writing process difficult. The good news is that you do not have to be a talented writer to produce a good scientific paper, but you do have to be a careful writer. In particular, writing for a peer-reviewed scientific or engineering journal requires learning and executing a specific formula for presenting scientific work. This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published.”