Skip to Main Content
The library subscribes to many online periodicals that will be of interest to scholars of American literature. The resources on this page are devoted to older periodicals. For information on current journals, magazines and newspapers, see the tab "Find Articles" on the English Subject page.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Making of America (Cornell)
Digitized collection of 19th century American magazine articles & books that covers American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles. Search entire collection or limit to journals only.
Making of America (Michigan)
Digitized collection of 19th century American imprints. Contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles. Search entire collection or limit to journals only.
19th Century American Women Writers
A collection of poetry, novels, short stories, and biographical materials from 19th century American women writers.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
The Digital Schomburg is a text database of 52 works by Afro-American women published prior to 1920. Documents are browsable by title, author, or genre (fiction, poetry, biography, or essays); browse lists can be further searched by keywords.