American Literature - Colonial to 19th Century: Finding Scholarly Journals
American Literature from the beginnings to the 19th Century.
Scholarly Journal Articles
Use a Research Database on the UW Libraries website to find scholarly articles on your topic. The following databases are good choices for topics pertaining to Colonial through 19th Century American Literature:
MLA International Bibliography - [UW restricted]
MLA is the best database for finding information on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. MLA covers scholarly journals and series, as well as chapters in books and dissertations. Please note: there is little FULL TEXT in MLA. Use the purple "Check For Full Text" links to see if the journal/book is available in the libraries.
America: History and Life - [UW restricted]
America: History & Life is an excellent database for finding scholarly articles, chapters in books, and book reviews pertaining to US history from prehistory to the present. Please note: there is selected FULL TEXT, so use the purple "Check For Full Text" links to see if the journal/book is available in the libraries.
Academic Search Complete - [UW restricted]
Covers all subject areas--humanities, social sciences and sciences. Thus, it covers both history and literature, but not in the same depth as the databases above. Keep in mind that Academic Search Complete includes both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Some full text is available.
Literature Online - [UW restricted]
Literature Online allows you to cross reference both literature and criticism, providing full-text versions of each.