Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Texts and Manuscripts
Dickinson Electronic Archives
A repository for the study of resources related to Emily Dickinson. Provides a digital collection of Dickinson that contains writings, drawings, and criticism.
Emily Dickinson Archive
Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives
The Walt Whitman Archives
Provides digital version of every edition of Leaves of Grass. Site provides biography, bibliography and criticism.
Radical Scatters: Emily Dickinson's Fragments and Related Texts, 1870-1886
Eighty-two documents carrying over one hundred fragmentary texts composed by Dickinson in the final decades of her life. In addition to the core texts, the archive’s primary materials include fifty-three poems, letters, and other writings by Dickinson with direct links to the fragments. While the manuscripts of the fragments are housed at the Amherst College Library, the manuscripts of the related texts are divided among seven libraries.
Provides Annotated texts of Thoreau's more popular writings. The site also includes useful secondary sources, such as maps of areas that Thoreau wrote about.
Offers fully searchable texts of Emmerson and Thoreau as well as other transcendentalists.
The American Novel
Site which provides a time line of America novels. It also provides basic information regarding authors, historical context and overall influence of the novels.