American Literature - Colonial to 19th Century: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
American Literature from the beginnings to the 19th Century.
Encyclopedias & Other Reference Resources
Suzzallo Library has many reference resources--specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies--devoted to the topics of American literature, history, and culture. These resources provide background information on authors, literary movements, and important events in American history. Articles contain bibliographies which help identify additional information. Use the appropriate call number (PS for literature, E for history) to locate print encyclopedias in Suzzallo Reference.
This award-winning Encyclopedia surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, covering American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. The Encyclopedia's articles offer historical perspective and social context.
350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
A comprehensive survey of women writers across four centuries of American history. There are biographical entries on poets, novelists, and playwrights, such as Emily Dickinson, Gertrude Stein, Kate Chopin, and Maya Angelou.