Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- American Literature - 20th Century to Contemporary
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
American Literature - 20th Century to Contemporary: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedias & Other Reference Resources
Suzzallo Library has many reference resources--specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies--devoted to the topics of American literature, history, and culture. These resources provide background information on authors, literary movements, and important events in American history. Articles contain bibliographies which help identify additional information. Use the appropriate call number (PS for literature, E for history) to locate print encyclopedias in Suzzallo Reference.
- Cambridge History of American Literature8 volume history of American literature covering 1590 - 1995. [UW restricted]
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American LiteratureThis award-winning Encyclopedia surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, covering American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. The Encyclopedia's articles offer historical perspective and social context. [UW restricted]Oxford Companion to American Literature350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. [UW restricted]Oxford Companion to U.S. History1,400 articles on America's political, diplomatic, and military history; social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion. [UW restricted]Encyclopedia of Literary ModernismThis single volume text provides accessible quick reference to authors and movements normally associated with the literary modernist movement. IN: Suzzallo Reference, PN56.M54 E53 2003.
Langston Hughes
Photo by Carl Van Vechten