Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Web Search Tips

   Google

use Google to limit your search (search within) a specific website by entering [site:url].  Examples:

  • haiti AND "new media" AND site:.edu
  • health AND africa AND site:pewinternet.org
  • belize AND "new media" AND  site:.gov

use Google to limit your searchto a specific file type by entering [filetype:type].  Example:

  • belize AND "new media" AND filetype:pdf

     

      Google Scholar

    find journal articles, conference papers, theses & dissertations, academic websites and more in all subjects.  Be sure to set your Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the button near the top right corner of the screen.  Select Library Links on the left and make sure "University of Washington Libraries - Check for Full-Text @ UW" is checked.  You may also want to add "Open WorldCat - Library Search" and "Seattle Public Library - Full-Text@Seattle Library " if you have an SPL library card.

    Search Tips for Searching Library Databases

    Boolean Operators (Connectors)

    AND

     

    • Finds sources containing two or more ideas.
    • The database will only retrieve items containing both words.
    • AND narrows your search.
    • You can use AND many times in one search.
    • Example: rwanda AND technology

    OR

     

    • Use OR when searching for synonyms.
    • OR broadens your search to include synonyms and related words.
    • OR tells the database that the words can be used interchangeably, so it will retrieve items containing either word.
    • You can use OR many times in one search.
    • Example: rwanda OR africa

    AND and OR

    Make a complex search using both AND and OR by using parentheses around OR synonyms.

    • Example: (rwanda OR africa) AND ict
    • Example: rwanda AND (ict OR "information and communication technology")
    Truncation

    *

     

    • Common symbol used to replace any number of letters at the ends of words.
    • Helps find singulars, plurals, and variant endings of words.
    • Differs from database to database. Check the online help to identify the truncation symbol used.
    • Example: tech* finds tech, technology, technologies

       

    • Databases that use * include the UW Libraries Catalog, EBSCO databases, and ProQuest databases.
    • Lexis Nexis uses !
    Limits

    limits vary

    Most databases let you limit search results. Some limits include language, date of publication, publication type, etc.
    Phrases

    ""

     

    • Enclose phrases in quotation marks when searching the Web or most databases.
    • Phrase searching in databases varies. Check the online help for additional information.
    • Example: "social networks"
    • Example: "new media"
    • Example: "information and communication technology"