Research Guides
COM 289: Communication and Difference - Summer 2014: Popular Articles
Find Magazine & Newspaper Articles ...
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
journal, magazine, and some news articles about many subjects
Popular articles, those published in magazines and newspapers, often provide the most recent information on a topic. They are brief and focus on the facts. The articles are usually written by a journalist and reviewed by an editor.
Search the databases below to find news stories published since the late 1980s to the present.
Don't forget to use the Search Tips. Try searches like these:
- "asian american" AND television
- "native american" AND "mass media"
- (disabled OR disability OR disabilities) AND television and portray*
- (gay OR lesbian OR queer OR homosexual*) AND television
Looking for more historical news coverage or for more than news stories (advertisements, TV times, movie times, photographs, etc.)? Use the databases listed in the box below this one - Traditional Print Newspapers Available Online.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
magazine and journal articles on all subjects related to communication - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
regional, national, and international newspapers
Traditional Print Newspapers Available Online
The newspapers below are scanned copies of original newspapers, some dating back to the late 1800s. Search these newspapers are you will find news stories, images, TV and movie times, advertisements, and the other content printed in the original newspaper.
Want to see the original versions of other newspapers? Explore the News subject guide and ask Jessica which newspapers are available on microfilm in the Microforms & Newspapers Collection.
- ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers digitized from microfilm. Newspaper page images from the Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, News Tribune (Tacoma), Spokesman-Review, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
- Baltimore Afro American
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1893-1988 - Chicago Defender
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1905-1975. For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch. - Los Angeles Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1881-1994. For coverage from 1995 to the present, use LexisNexis. - New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1851-2014. For 1990s to present, use NexisUni or ProQuest GlobalNewsstream. - Pittsburgh Courier
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1911-2002 - Seattle Times
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1900-1984.
Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For issues 1886 to 1900, use microfilm A419.
For issues published after 1984, use Access World News. - Times (of London)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1785-1985 - Times of India
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1838-2005. Library also has 1861-2003 on Microfilm A5725 - Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1889-2000. For more recent coverage, use ProQuest Newsstand (1982-present).
How do I find the article if it's not in the database?
The UW Libraries subscribes to many databases because they do not include the same publications. The publishers decide which databases may include the full text of their articles. If a database does not provide the full text of the article that you need, select the button that you see:
or 
These buttons will search to see if the Libraries has the article online in a different database and, if we don't, see if the magazine or newspaper is available in paper form.