Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor FAQs and current status of services and policies see UW Libraries Operations Updates

Research Guides

Patent and Trademark Information: International Intellectual Property

Please Note: This is a selected list of international and national intellectual property offices and databases.  Some of these sites may only be available in the original language. Translation pages/sites are not always available.

WIPO's Directory of Intellectual Property Offices

International Patent Cooperation - USPTO

Protecting Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) Overseas - USPTO
Information from the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office about registering and protecting patents and trademarks in other countries.


Multinational:

esp@cenet
The content of this database from the European Patent Office (EPO) contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from more than 90+ countries around the world, including the U.S.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The World Intellectual Property Organization is an agency of the United Nations. WIPO promotes intellectual property protection worldwide. Enables cooperation and collaboration among member states and other international organizations and entities. WIPO provides international registration services for patents, trademarks and designs, as well as maintaining international classification systems. Website includes information about the International Patent Classification System (IPC) and the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), including PCT application information.

PATENTSCOPE
The PATENTSCOPE database from the WIPO provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format. The database also includes patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.

Trilateral Co-operation Website (EPO, JPO, USPTO)
This site provides links to each of the three patent offices as well as links to joint projects and reference materials.

Europe:

European Patent Office (EPO)

esp@cenet
The content of this database from the European Patent Office (EPO) contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from more than 90+ countries around the world, including the U.S.

DEPATISnet - German Patent & Trademark Office
This database,DEPATIS, is provided by the German Patent and Trade Mark Office (GPTO). Includes documents from around the world in addition to: OS-German Patent applications; PS-German Patent Specification; GM-German Utility Model; EP-European Applications including Germany as a designated State; WO-International Patent applications according to PCT; ZE-German Protection Certificates for Medicines and Fertilizers; TO-German IC Topographies; DD-German Patent applications and patents originating in former East-Germany.

German Patent & Trademark Office
Deutches Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA)

UK Intellectual Property Office
The UK Intellectual Property Office manages copyrights, designs, patents and trade marks in the United Kingdom. This website also provides access to searchable databases of UK designs, patents and trade marks.

Canada and Japan:

Canadian Patents Database
The free database from CIPO (Canadian Intellectual Property Office) contains Canadian patent documents from 1869 to the present. Includes granted patents and applications opened to public inspection.

Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)
CIPO's intellectual property resources include databases of Canadian patents, industrial designs, trade-marks and copyrights. Intellectual property and copyright in Canada, and using IP as a business tool: https://www.canada.ca/en/services/business/ip.html

Japan Patent Office (JPO)
In addition to patent searching, the Japanese patent office now offers trademark searching and design searching. More information is available on the "How to use JPO website" and "How to Search" pages.

Disclaimer

While the Library reference service staff is happy to provide assistance with your patent or trademark research, we cannot perform searches, evaluate searches, assist with your application or dispense legal advice.

The University of Washington and its employees are providing a service of an informational nature with no express or implied warranty for results and assume no obligation or liability for damage arising out of the use, or inability to use, the information provided.  Every effort is made to keep this information up to date. However, errors and omissions may occur.

For the most up-to-date information or legal advice, please contact a patent or trademark attorney.