Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor FAQs and current status of services and policies see UW Libraries Operations Updates

Research Guides

Patent and Trademark Information: Additional Patent & Trademark Search Resources

Selected Patent Databases

USPTO Patent Public Search
Web-based patent search application from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.  Includes issued patents and patent applications. More information is available on the USPTO Search for patents portal.
FAQ
Basic Search Overview (pdf)
Quick Reference Guides

Patent Center (USPTO)
The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Patent Center system is a tool for electronic filing and management of patent applications. Public (guest) users, applicants, and patent owners can track status, maintenance fees, and file history information for United States patents. PDF images of some documents included. Guest users may access publicly available documents via Patent Center. Online ordering of patent documents is available.

Google Patents
Google Patents is a database of full-text patents. Includes patent documents from the United States Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Canada, China, Germany, WIPO, and other patent offices . For an overview and search tips, see the  About Google Patents page. To determine current CPC classifications, use the tools available at the USPTO website.

Patent Lens
Open public patent database indexing patent documents from national and regional patent offices. Full-text documents from the US, WIPO, and EPO are available. lens.org offers a variety of patent analysis and citation tools.

FreePatentsOnline (FPO)
FreePatentsOnline (FPO) provides a free patent search database. The patent search database includes US patents and US patent applications as well as documents from the European Patent Office, WIPO, Japan and Germany. FPO also offers data, citation, and other tools and resources.

Disclaimer

While the Library reference service staff is happy to provide assistance with your patent or trademark research, we cannot perform searches, evaluate searches, assist with your application or dispense legal advice.

The University of Washington and its employees are providing a service of an informational nature with no express or implied warranty for results and assume no obligation or liability for damage arising out of the use, or inability to use, the information provided.  Every effort is made to keep this information up to date. However, errors and omissions may occur.

For the most up-to-date information or legal advice, please contact a patent or trademark attorney.

Selected Trademark Databases

U.S. Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office TESS database contains more than 2.9 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks. Updates scheduled daily on Tuesdays through Saturdays. Please read and understand the HELP section, the News! section, the Update Information section and the Important Notices section of the TESS main page prior to using this database. Images are available for most trademarks which have images associated with them. The USPTO has additional information about Searching the Trademark Database.

Trademark Status and Document Retrieval (TSDR) Database
The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office TSDR database lists current status information about pending and registered trademarks. Search by trademark serial number or registration number. Trademark records in TESS provide links to the status information displayed in TSDR.