The WSJA is a collaboration of the Washington State Jewish Historical Society and UW Libraries Special Collections.
Bella Kracower Secord working with test tube in University of Washington chemistry lab, circa 1919-1920
Washington State Jewish Archives, University of Washington Special Collections, JEW0011
See more from the Washington State Jewish Archives Photograph Collection
The Washington State Jewish Archives (WSJA) is the premier collection documenting the Jewish experience in Washington State. It reflects this unique Jewish community in the far West, characterized by its large Sephardic population. The WSJA contains collections of organizational records and personal papers, photographs, oral history interviews, audio recordings, and moving images.
See the pages at left for information about the content of the collection as well as tips on how to search for material. To see archival material in person, please contact UW Libraries Special Collections at 206-543-1929 to make an appointment. Learn more about conducting research at UW Special Collections.
You may also view selected material from the collection which has been digitized by visiting WSJA Digital Collections.
The Washington State Jewish Historical Society promotes interest in and knowledge of the life, history, and culture of the Jewish people and communities of the State of Washington.
The Society is dedicated to discovering, preserving, and disseminating the history of the Jews of Washington State. This unique history is shared through publications, exhibits, displays, speakers, and tours.
For questions about the WSJA collections, please contact the UW Special Collections Reference Desk at
Our Collection Guides search tool has migrated to Archives West.