Skip to main content
Research Guides

Map Collection Indexes & Finding Aids: Air Photo Project Descriptions

Air Photo Project Descriptions

To narrow down your selection, first check the Air Photo Projects Indexed by County and Region chart.

Air Photo Projects Project Description Scale
United States Metropolitan Areas Many major U.S. cities 1 : 58,000
10-11-46E (1975) Asotin to Clarkston generally along the Snake River 1 : 24,000
17-18-12W (1977) Ocean Shores--strip photography 1 : 6,000
1961 MYLAR enlargements Southwestern Snohomish County, Western King County, Northwestern Pierce County, portion of Kitsap County 1 : 4,800
1965 MYLAR
enlargements
Southwestern Snohomish County,Western King County, Northwestern Pierce County, portion of Kitsap County 1 : 4,800
1970 enlargements Western Snohomish, Western King and Northwestern Pierce counties 1 : 4,800
AAS (1954) Klickitat County--strip photography 1 : 20,000
AAV (1954) Northern Columbia County--strip photography 1 : 20,000
Aerial survey of Seattle (1946) Seattle, south of N/NE 85th St. 1 : 12,000
ARL-VIC (1987) Arlington and vicinity--strip photography 1 : 3,000
ARMY COE 1944
enlargements
Western Washington (not including the Olympic Peninsula) and a portion of Klickitat Co. 1 : 20,000
BBH (1953-54) Thurston County and parts of surrounding counties (Grays Harbor, Mason, and Pierce Counties) 1 : 20,000
BBI (1964) Snohomish County (west half) 1 : 20,000
BELFAIR VIC (1977) Belfair vicinity, Mason County--strip photography 1 : 3,000
BELRED (1960) Bellevue and Redmond areas, King County Scale not given
B-FERN-68 (1967) Bellingham to Ferndale generally along I-5--strip photography 1 : 6,000
B-F-70 (1970) Bellingham to Ferndale along I-5--strip photography 1 : 24,000
BUR-BEL (1970) Burlington to Bellingham along I-5--strip photography 1 : 12,000
CBE (1960) Area east of Othello, Adams County 1 : 20,000
CB-H-70 Eastern Washington: includes some coverage of Douglas, Lincoln, Whitman, Grant, Adams, Franklin, and Benton Counties 1 : 63,360
CB-H-87 enlargements (1987) Portions of Douglas, Grant, Benton, Franklin, Adams, Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield, Spokane, Ferry and Stevens Counties and all of Lincoln, Whitman and Asotin Counties 1 : 24,000
CBQ (1960) West of Moses Lake and north of I-90 1 : 20,000
CBS (1960) Connell and area to the northwest, Franklin County 1 : 20,000
CDS (1978) Chelan, Douglas, Spokane, and some of Lincoln Counties 1 : 63,360
CF-78 (1978) Chelan and Douglas counties along the Columbia River--strip photography 1 : 24,000
CG (1954) Eastside of Lake Washington--North to Bothell, South to Redmond and East to Bellevue 1 : 12,000
CHEL-65 (1965) Chelan and vicinity--strip photography 1 : 3,000
CHELAN VIC. (1973) Chelan vicinity, Columbia River--strip photography 1 : 24,000
CINV-82 Small portion of central King County between Tolt and Snoqualmie River 1:12,000
CINV-90 Small portion of central King County between Tolt and Snoqualmie River 1:12,000
CINV-93 Small portion of central King County between Tolt and Snoqualmie River 1:12,000
CLEAR CR. I/C (1980) Kitsap County; Clear Creek area, north of Silverdale--strip photography 1 : 3,000
COD (1954) Eastern Okanogan County, with some west central--strip photography 1 : 20,000
COD-64 (1964) Southeastern Okanogan County, Columbia River, (Douglas County) 1 : 20,000
COL-75 (1975) Colville vicinity, Stevens County--strip photography 1 : 24,000
CON-VIC (1970) North Cascades Highway, between Minkler and beyond Hamilton; and between Van Horn and Rockport; Skagit County--strip photography 1 : 24,000
COR-78 (1978) South of Lake Washington, area around Renton (north of Kent), King County 1 : 12,000
CR-78 (1978) South Lake Washington/Eastside; Renton and vicinity 1 : 24,000
CRC-80 (1980) Montesano to Fuller, Grays Harbor County--strip photography 1 : 24,000? (not given)
CWA (1960) Clark County, parts of Cowlitz and Skamania Counties 1 : 20,000
CWD (1956) West/Central Sakgit County--strip photography 1 : 20,000
DCZ (1965) Ferry County Scale not given
DOQ (1965) Pacific County 1 : 20,000
DOX (1955) North Cascades 1 : 20,000
DUPONT I/C (1987) Follows I-5 north from Dupont beyond Tillicum, Pierce County--strip photography 1 : 3,000
DYE (1955) Central Clallam County--strip photography 1 : 15,840
EAST MERCER ISLAND (1985) Follows I-90 from downtown Seattle to Bellevue, King County 1 : 3,000
EBK (1956) North Cascades 1 : 15,840
EBQ (1957) Northeastern Olympic Peninsula 1 : 12,000
EBS (1957) Southeastern Olympic Peninsula, part of Kitsap Peninsula, Mason, Kitsap, and Grays Harbor Counties 1 : 12,000
ECY (1964) Grays Harbor County 1 : 20,000
EFM (1958/59) Parts of the Gifford Pinchot National Forest in Lewis, Cowlitz, and Skamania Counties 1 : 12,000
EISS-75 (1975) Follows I-90 from Issaquah to High Point 1 : 3,600
EJK (1962) Area around the Olympic National Park on the Olympic Peninsula, includes parts of Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, and Mason Counties 1 : 12,000
ELC (1962/63) Parts of Snoqualmie and Wenatchee National Forests: Snohomish, King, Kittitas, Yakima, Pierce, and Lewis Counties 1 : 12,000
EMI-IC (1984) Follows I-90 from downtown Seattle to Bellevue--strip photography 1 : 3,000
EMI-WMI (1987) Follows much of I-90 between downtown Seattle and Bellevue--strip photography 1 : 3,000
EMM (1963/64) Mt. Baker and Okanogan National Forests 1 : 12,000
ESG (1967) Gifford Pinchot National Forest (not complete coverage) 1 : 15,840
EUS (1970) Area surrounding Snoqualmie Pass 1 : 15,840
EV BLOC (1972) Everett vicinity and southwest Snohomish County--strip photography 1 : 24,000
EVERGREEN (1969) Olympia and vicinity--strip photography 1 : 48,000
EWC (1970) Okanogan National Forest--covers most of Okanogan County 1 : 15,840
EXQ (1972//73) North Cascades; 1 : 15,840
FIFE I/C (1987) Fife at I-5, Pierce County--strip photography

1 : 3,000

GEO-CD Auburn 1994 Cities of Auburn, Federal Way, Kent, Puyallup, and surrounding areas 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Bellevue 1994 Central King county and southwest Snohomish County including the cities of Bellevue, Edmonds, Montlake Terrace, Renton, Redmond, Bothell and Mercer Island 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Bremerton 1994 Much of Kitsap county as well as the north of Vashon Island 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Fort Lewis 1994 Fort Lewis, Western and Southern Pierce County 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Gig Harbor 1994 North Pierce County, south Kitsap County, Maury Island and south Vashon Island 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Orting 1994 Central Pierce County including the towns of Orting, McMillin, Graham, Thrift, and Bonney Lake 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Seattle 1994 City of Seattle 1 meter pixel resolution
GEO-CD Tacoma 1994

City of Tacoma and central Pierce County 1 meter pixel resolution
GIG HARBOR I/C (1972) South of Gig Harbor, Pierce County along two major roads--strip photography 1 : 3,000
GIG HARBOR VIC. (1973) Area south of Gig Harbor, follows two major roads--strip photography 1 : 3,000
GORST (1979) Gorst and vicinity, Kitsap County--strip photography 1 : 6,000
GRAYS HARBOR 1942 enlargements Grays Harbor County, Pacific County 1 : 20,000
GO-SR3 (1977) The end of Sinclair Inlet, covers Gorst and West Bremerton, Kitsap County--strip photography 1 : 6,000
GS-CJ (1946) Southern Ferry and Okanogan Counties 1 : 36,000
GS-VCAG (1968) Eastern Whatcom County 1 : 40,000
GS-VDPG (1974) Southwestern Whitman County, and parts of Adams, Franklin, Walla Walla, Columbia, and Garfield Counties, and part of the Snake River 1 : 76,000
GS-VDWS (1975) Eastern Whitman County, Northeast Garfield County, and Northern Asotin County; part of the Snake River 1 : 78,000
GS-VEGI (1976) Southeastern Benton County with parts of Walla Walla and Franklin Counties, and part of the Columbia River and the Snake River 1 : 78,000
GS-VEGJ (1976) Central Grant County, and parts of Douglas and Adams Counties 1 : 78,000
GS-VELT (1977) Southwestern Lincoln County, and parts of Adams and Franklin Counties 1 : 78,000
GS-VELU (1977) Parts of Grant, Benton, Adams, Franklin, and Yakima Counties with part of the Columbia River 1 : 78,000
GS-VELX (1977) Asotin County. A single flight line starts just south of Clarkston and runs south. 1 : 78,000
GS-VFEL (1982) Parts of South King, Central Pierce, and Central Lewis Counties 1 : 24,000
GS-VFES (1983) Parts of southern Grays Harbor County, eastern Pacific County, very western edge of Lewis County, and most of Wahkiakum County 1 : 24,000
GS-VFET (1982) From about the Mason County south border to the Columbia, including parts of Thurston, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Cowlitz, and Wahkiakum counties 1 : 24,000
GS-VFGF (1983) Western and central Ferry County, eastern Okanogan County, northwestern Lincoln County, and parts of Grant and Douglas Counties 1 : 48,000
GS-VSB (1958) Northeastern King County and parts of Kittitas, Chelan, and Snohomish Counties 1 : 40,000
GS-VYE (1959) Eastern Lewis County and parts of Yakima and Pierce counties (from the south side of Mt. Rainier)--strip photography 1 : 54,000
HAP-80 (1980) Covers coastal areas of Washington: Pacific Coast, around the Olympic Peninsula, Puget Sound, and the San Juan Islands--strip photography 1 : 58,000
HAP-81 (1981) Includes parts of Yakima, Clark, Sakmania, Cowlitz, and Lewis Counties. Also goes into Oregon (including part of the Columbia River) 1 : 58,000
HAP-82 (1982) Scattered strip photography of parts of Grant, Kittitas, Yakima, Benton, Walla Walla, Franklin, and Spokane counties. 1 : 58,000
HAP-83 (1983) Parts of Snohomish, King, Pierce and Lewis Counties (inland from Puget Sound)--strip photography; includes one strip of part of the Chelan Douglas County boundary 1 : 58,000
HP-73 (1973) East of Issaquah on I-90. High Point and vicinity--strip photography 1 : 12,000
I-5 EAST (1983) Follows I-90 east to Factoria--strip photography 1 : 3,000
IS-EL (1977) Follows I-90 from Issaquah to Echo Lake--strip photography 1 : 6,000
ISSAQ I/C (1977) Follows I-90 from Issaquah to High Point--strip photography 1 : 6,000
ISS VIC. (1975) Generally follows I-90 from Issaquah to High Point--strip photography 1 : 6,000
JK-0103 (1976) Olympia--strip photography 1 : 2,400
JK-0200 (1974) Areas south of Tacoma--strip photography 1 : 24,000
JK-72 (1972) All of Kitsap County except the northern and western points--strip photography 1 : 12,000
KINGSTON VIC. (1976) Follows Highway 104 out of Kingston--strip photography 1 : 4,800
KP-70 (1970) Western King County and northwestern Pierce County--strip photography 1 : 12,000
L-3467 (1967) Wenatchee area--strip photography along the Columbia River and major roads 1 : 3,000
L. ROCK-66 ((1966) Follows Highway 97 along the Columbia River in Chelan County 1 : 6,000
LK. TAPPS-VIC. (1971) Lake Tapps/Bonney Lake area--strip photography 1 : 12,000
LEAV-60 (1960) Leavenworth area--strip photography 1 : 6,000
M 49-13 Western Jefferson and small part of Clallam County 1:12,000
MAPLE VALLEY I/C-1 (1972) Maple Valley area (south and southwest of town)--strip photography 1 : 3,000
MAPLE VALLEY I/C-2 (1972) Maple Valley area (south of town)--strip photography 1 : 3,000
MERCER ISLAND (1946) Mercer Island, missing narrow strip in middle. 1 : 12,000
METRO AERIAL 1990 Seattle Metropolitan area east to Issaquah, Bremerton area, Bainbridge Island, southwest Shohomish County 1 : 14,400
MSH-C-80 (1980) Northern Cowlitz and Skamania Counties, Mount Saint Helens vicinity--mostly strip photography 1 : 24,000
MT-72 (1972) Northern Thurston County--strip photography 1 : 12,000
MT. ST. HELENS (1980) Mount Saint Helens and vicinity--strip photography scale varies 1:5,000/24,000/40,000
MT. ST. HELENS ASH & PYROCLASTIC FLOWS (1980) Mount Saint Helens and vicinity--strip photography scale varies 1:5,000/8,000/10,000
NAPP (1990, 1991) Olympic Peninsula including Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Thurston, and Pacific Counties 1 : 40,000
NASA 189 (1971) Covers most of Puget Sound area including parts of San Juan, Whatcom, Skagit, Snohomish, King, Kitsap, Island, Pierce, Thurston, and Lewis Counties--strip photography 1 : 58,000
NB-83 (1983) West Tacoma--strip photography 1 : 3,000
N. COVE VIC. (1987) Cape Shoalwater, North Cove and Shoalwater Indian Reservation--strip photography 1 : 4,800
NC-SC (1967) Follows I-405 from I-5 interchange to Bothell--strip photography 1 : 3,000
NE-H-77 (1977) Central and southeastern Okanogan County, western Stevens County, and Ferry County 1 : 63,360
NE-H-87 enlargements (1987) Portions of Okanogan, Ferry and Spokane Counties and all of Stevens and Pend Oreille Counties 1 : 24,000
NES-VIC (1979) Nespelem vicinity--strip photography 1 : 12,000
NL (1956) All of Yakima County except the western edge and northwestern corner--strip photography 1 : 20,000
NW-69 (1969) Most of the western two-thirds of Snohomish County 1 : 12,000
NW-70 (1970) Most of the western two-thirds of Snohomish County 1 : 12,000
NW-78 (1978) Mainly Seattle/Vashon Island coverage, with sporadic coverage in King and Skagit Counties, and Bellingham area (Whatcom Co.) 1 : 12,000
NW-78 KITSAP (1978) Fairly sporadic coverage of places in Kitsap County 1 : 12,000
NW-91 (1991) Western Snohomish County 1 : 12,000
NW-95 (1995) Western Washington 1 : 12,000
NW-95 enlargements (1995) Seattle Metropolitan Area 1 : 4,800
NW-C-01 (2001) Western Washington 1 : 12,000
NW-C-01 enlargements (2001) Seattle Metropolitan Area 1 : 4,800
NW-C-76 (1976) Greater Seattle area 1 : 24,000
NW-H-74 (1974) (enlargements) King, Pierce and Snohomish Counties 1 : 24,000
OL-97 (1997) Mason and Thurston Counties 1 : 12,000
OL-H-73 (1973) Western side of Olympic Peninsula 1 : 58,000
OL-H-88 enlargements (1988) Olympic Peninsula 1 : 12,000
OLP-95 (1995) Kitsap County 1 : 12,000
OLY-77 (1977) Part of Olympia--strip photography 1 : 6,000
OLY-YR (1978) Olympia/Tumwater/Lacey area--strip photography 1 : 2,400
OSI-81 (1981) Olympic National Park, and other scattered areas of coverage on the Olympic Peninsula and slightly south--may be strip photography 1 : 40,000
OSI 81-82 enlargements (1981-82) Sporadic coverage in Clallam, Jefferson, Mason, Grays Harbor, Thurston, Pacific, Lewis and Wahkiakum Counties 1 : 12,000
OS 83-84 enlargements (1983-84) Western Washington not including the Olympic Peninsula 1 : 12,000
OTHELLO (1973) Follows the highways from Moses Lake to Othello--strip photography 1 : 24,000
PC-SR516 (1988) Follows I-5 from Milton to Midway--strip photography 1 : 6,000
P-EL-79 (1979) Follows I-90 from Preston to Echo Lake--strip photography 1 : 3,000
PESH-VIC (1969) Peshastin and vicinity, Chelan County--strip photography 1 : 6,000
PL-CR-66 (1966) From Iverson to Lake Crescent in Clallam County--strip photography 1 : 24,000
PORT ANGELES (1974) Port Angeles and vicinity--strip photography 1 : 24,000
PRES-ECHO. LK (1979) Follows I-90 from Preston to Echo Lake--strip photography 1 : 6,000
PS-82 (1972) Vancouver, WA and vicinity 1 : 12,000
PULLMAN (1975) Pullman and vicinity--strip photography 1 : 24,000
QUINCY (1966) From George to Quincy, Grant County--strip photography 1 : 24,000
REN 73 (1973) Renton vicinity--strip photography 1 : 6,000
RENTON VIC (1972) Renton vicinity, follows Highway 515--strip photography 1 : 6,000
RENTON WTP (1998) Renton water treatment plant 1 : 2,280
S53 (1953) Seattle Metropolitan area 1 : 12,000
S72021 (1972) Coastlines of northern Olympic Peninsula, east Puget Sound, Lake Washington, and Lake Samamish--strip photography 1 : 24,000
SB-70 (1970) Most of western King County 1 : 24,000
SC-H-75 (1975) Klickitat County, South Kittitas County, and part of Western Yakima County 1 : 63,360
SC-H-86 enlargements (1986) Portions of Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas, Yakima Counties, west side of Grant County and includes all of Klickitat County 1 : 24,000
SEA-VIC (1966) Incomplete coverage of Western King County--strip photography 1 : 24,000
SEABLOCK (SEATTLE BLOCK COVERAGE) (1979) Greater Seattle/Tacoma/Everett Metropolitan Area 1 : 24,000
SEABLOCK2 (1969) Greater Seattle area; including Edmonds, Bellevue, Renton 1 : 48,000
SEATTLE 1970 photomaps (enlargements) Seattle Metropolitan area 1 : 1,200
SHELBLOC (1980) Shelton area--strip photography 1 : 24,000
SHELTON AREA enlargements (1942) Shelton area 1 : 20,000
SHELTON VIC (1965) Shelton vicinity--strip photography 1 : 12,000
SKAG-BLOC (1972) Part of western Skagit County, including Mount Vernon, Burlington, and Sedro-Woolley--strip photography 1 : 24,000
SKYKOMISH (1976) Skykomish vicinity, King County--strip photography 1 : 3,000
SL-BEL (1962) Follows I-5 from Samish Lake to Chuckanut Village (Bellingham), Whatcom County--strip photography 1 : 6,000
SNOBLOCK (1974) Most of western Snohomish County with scattered central coverage--strip photography 1 : 24,000
S. KING CO. (1970) Two flight lines stretching across western King county, through the Seattle Metropolitan area--strip photography 1 : 42,000
SO. MAPLE VALLEY (1973) Area south of Maple Valley, King county--strip photography 1 : 3,000
SOUND BLOCK '85 (1985) Covers from Marysville, Snohomish County to Roy, Pierce County; and from Issaquah, King County to Bremerton, Kitsap County 1 : 24,000
SOUND BLOCK '88 (1988) Greater Everett/Seattle/Tacoma Metropolitan area and surrounding areas 1 : 36,000
SP-81 (1981) Western King County, central Kitsap and part of central Thurston Counties 1 : 12,000
SP-85 (1985) Greater Seattle area, including Renton, Issaquah, and up to the Snohomish County border; northwestern King County 1 : 12,000
SP-85 enlargements (1985) Greater Seattle area, including Issaquah and Redmond and up to the Snohomish County border 1 : 4,800
SP-89 (1989) Seattle/Tacoma metropolitan area 1 : 12,000
SP-89 enlargements (1989) Seattle metropolitan area 1 : 4,800
SPOKANE BLOCK COVERAGE (1979) Spokane and vicinity 1 : 24,000
STEVENS PASS (1966) Stevens Pass and vicinity following Highway 2--strip photography 1 : 6,000
SUNNYSLOPE I/C (1986) Sunnyslope and vicinity, Chelan County--strip photography 1 : 3,000
SW-H-76 (1976) Southwestern Washington including: Pacific, Lewis, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark and Skamania Counties 1 : 63,360
SW-H-90 enlargements (1990) Southwestern Washington (all of Pacific, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz and Clark Counties and parts of Skamania, Klickitat, Lewis, Pierce and Thruston Counties 1 : 12,000
TACOMA SPUR (1975) Greater Tacoma area block coverage including parts of Pierce and King Counties (as far as Auburn) 1 : 24,000
THUR BLOC (1977) Most of Thurston County--strip photography 1 : 12,000
THURSTON MET. (1980) Most of northern Thurston County 1 : 24,000
TON-85 (1985) Covers Tonasket and the major roads in the vicinity--strip photography 1 : 6,000
TRI-77 (1977) Part of northern Kitsap County--strip photography north of Silverdale 1 : 3,000
TRI CITY BLOCK COVERAGE (1976) Tri-cities area: Richland, Pasco, Kennewick 1 : 24,000
TRIDENT (1975) Silverdale to Lofall, Kitsap County--strip photography 1 : 36,000
TRI-VIC (1977) Covers area north of Silverdale to north of Poulsbo--strip photography 1 : 6,000
TS-73 (1973) Tacoma and vicinity 1 : 24,000
TUK I/C (1968) Tukwila and vicinity, following part of I-5--strip photography 1 : 3,000
TUK-UST (1980) Follows I-5 from Tukwila to downtown Seattle--strip photography 1 : 3,000
TUM60-1 (1960) Follows highway out of Leavenworth to the northwest--strip photography 1 : 7,920
TUM60-2 (1959) Covers highway to the northwest of Leavenworth--strip photography 1 : 6,000
USDA 41061 (1976) Covers most of Asotin County, southern Garfield County, and eastern Columbia County 1 : 80,000
USDA 53007 (1973) Includes parts of Okanogan, Chelan, Kittitas, King, Snohomish, Skagit, and Whatcom Counties 1 : 70,000
USDA 53031 (1972) Partially surrounds Olympic National Park 1 : 70,000
USDA 53037 (1975) Snoqualmie--Wenatchee National Forests: includes parts of Chelan, Snohomish, King, Pierce, Yakima and Kittitas Counties 1 : 15,840
USDA 53059 (1972) Gifford Pinchot National Forest 1 : 70,000
USDA 616030 (1979) Mt. Saint Helens and Mt. Rainier--strip photography 1 : 80,000
USDA 616031 (1980) Mount Saint Helens and vicinity 1 : 24,000
USDA 616050 (1979) North Cascades 1 : 24,000
USDA 626030 (1979) Mt. Saint Helens--single flight line 1 : 12,000
USDA 626090 (1979/80) Partially surrounds the Olympic National Park 1 : 80,000
USGS 1975-1983 Orthophotos (enlargements) Washington State-scattered areas 1 : 24,000
UW-E (1980) Eastern University of Washington Campus: includes Husky Stadium, Montlake parking, Urban Horticulture--strip photography 1 : 3,000
VAN-65 (1980) Eastern Vancouver area--strip photography 1 : 6,000
WCH-64 (1964) Greater Wenatchee area--strip photography 1 :12,000
WCW-87 Small portion of central King County between Tolt and Snoqualmie River, small portion of Green River 1:12,000
WEN-73 (1973) Wenatchee vicinity from Rock Island Dam to Cashmere--strip photography 1 : 30,000
WENATCHEE (1978) Wenatchee vicinity (east)--strip photography 1 : 24,000
WEN-VIC-67 (1967) Sunnyslope/Wenatchee vicinity--strip photography 1 : 3,000
WF (1965) Greater Puget Sound--Western Washington except Olympic Peninsula and south 1 : 60,000
WHIDBEY ISL (1966) South Whidbey Island and Mukilteo area--strip photography 1 : 24,000
WHOQ-85 (1985) Hoquiam vicinity--strip photography 1 : 6,000
WIN-VIC (1974) Follows the major road in Winthrop vicinity--strip photography 1 : 3,000
WV-67 (1967) Greater Wenatchee area--strip photography 1 : 6,000