Library Guides: Nursing & Health: Policy

Policy Websites

CQ Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and analysis about health legislation and policy development.

Kaiser Family Foundation
Provides data for all 50 states on over 500 health, health care, and health policy topics.
National Conference of State Legislatures: Health Track health reform measures in state legislatures and view summaries of reform legislation at the national level. Includes research and reports on Access, Cost & Quality, Diseases & Conditions, Health Insurance, Long-Term Care & Aging, Medicaid, CHIP, Medicare & SSI, Mental Health & Substance Abuse, Public Health & Prevention, Women, Children & Adolescents.
more...less...
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.
Urban Institute The Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity.

Washington State

Washington State Institute for Public Policy
State-funded public policy think tank and recommendations body.
Washington State Data Book
Contains eleven major sections: Population, Economy, State Government Finance, Human Services, Criminal Justice, Education, Natural Resources, Environment, Energy, Transportation, and Local Government.
Washington Dept. of Social and Health Services
Link to all DSHS services. Includes Reports to the Legislature.
Washington State Department of Children, Youth, and Families
Washington State agency focused on the well-being of children.
Washington Administrative Code (WAC)
Regulations of executive branch agencies are issued by authority of statutes. Like legislation and the Constitution, regulations are a source of primary law in Washington State. The WAC codifies the regulations and arranges them by subject or agency. The online version of the WAC is updated twice a month.
Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
Compilation of all permanent laws now in force. It is a collection of Session Laws (enacted by the Legislature, and signed by the Governor, or enacted via the initiative process), arranged by topic, with amendments added and repealed laws removed.
Washington State Legislature: Bill Information
Access bills, digests, history, and reports. To view prior years back to 2003, click on the tab that contains the year for the bill. For Historical bill information from 1991 to 2002, click on the link for Detailed Legislative Reports. To browse current bills, click on Bills by Topic to browse. From the Bills by Topic page, click on the circle next to By Subject. Browse the list, click on desired subject and Continue.