Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- CHSTU 255 A: Mexican Women: Past and Present
- Find Background Information
CHSTU 255 A: Mexican Women: Past and Present: Find Background Information
Monica C. Viharo Winter 2022 - Survey of women in Mexican society from Meso-American times to the 1940s.
Encyclopedias and other Background Sources
Encyclopedias and and similar reference resources provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information.
The 
icon indicates that a resource has use restrictions. You may be prompted to enter you UWNetID.
- History: Latin AmericaHistorical guide to research on Latin America
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access temporarily requires use of Husky OnNet. Primary documents, essays, images, maps, and timelines depicting daily life around the world and throughout history - Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access temporarily requires use of Husky OnNet. History and culture of Latinos living in the United States. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contemporary and 20th century popular culture sources.
- Oxford Bibliography Latino StudiesBibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of Latino Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
UW Libraries Search
Advanced Search | FAQ | Known Issues
Use UW Libraries Search to find books, including eBooks, and more on a topic. Books are an excellent source for detailed information on a an issue or topic.
How to identify eBooks FAQ.
Oxford Reference Online
Online reference source provides historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information.
UW Libraries Search & Beyond
Books are a great source for finding detailed information on an issue or topic.
Use UW Libraries Search to find eBooks and more. (In response to COVID19 library facilities are currently closed for in-person use.)
The Libraries have recently instituted a no-contact materials pick-up service. to provide access to physical materials in collections.