Biomedical Literature Databases - PubMed and Beyond
- PubMedo Key database for biomedical research and clinical care articles.
o Try the "Similar Articles" feature.
o Links to related information in other NCBI databases. - Web of Science
This link opens in a new window
o Broad, multi-disciplinary science and social science database
o Cited reference searching
o Sort search results by citation count.
o Good source of meeting abstracts - Embase
- This link opens in a new window
o Biomedical research and clinical care articles and conference abstracts.
o Good complement to PubMed. Conduct a search; then click the "Sources" filter to select Embase references that aren't in PubMed.
o Excellent source for drug development articles and articles on medical devices. - SciFinder
- This link opens in a new window
o Excellent resource for chemistry, biochemistry, biotechnology journal articles and patent publications. - ACM Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
o Computer science, informatics, and data science literature
o Lots of conference papers in addition to journal articles - Engineering Village
- This link opens in a new window
o Recommended for applied science, computer science, and engineering topics.
o Many conference papers in addition to journal articles.
o Contains Inspec and Compendex.
Finding Conference Abstracts
There isn't a single best database for biomedical conference abstracts. Try the following approaches.
1. 6 of the 7 databases listed above (all but PubMed) contain some conference publications. Try Embase or Web of Science first.
2. Go directly to a meeting or association website to search for abstracts.
3. Search Google for your topic and require that the terms "meeting" or "conference" be used. For example, to find meeting abstracts where the phrase "tumor paint" was used, type:
(meeting OR conference OR proceedings) "tumor paint"
My NCBI
Why Use My NCBI?
- Set up email alerts to find out when new articles publish on your search topic.
- Save search strategies and collections of references in PubMed
- Return to your research when you have time.
- Customize filters and site preferences.
- See links to UW's electronic journal subscriptions
- Easily limit search results to full-text articles.
- Customize your PubMed search interface.
- Use My Bibliography tools.
