Biomedical Sciences Toolkit

Key Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical information database covering journals, patents, conference proceedings & technical papers.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Association of Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Information sources in applied science and engineering

View HSL Books by Subject:

Freely-Available Collections:

There is no single best database for biomedical conference abstracts. Try the following approaches.

Many databases contain conference publications. Try Embase or Web of Science first.
Go directly to a meeting or association website to search for abstracts.
Search Google for your topic and require that the terms "meeting" or "conference" be used. For example, to find meeting abstracts where the phrase "tumor paint" was used, type: (meeting OR conference OR proceedings) "tumor paint"

Clinical & Translational Research Toolkit (UW HSL)
Clinical research resources commonly used by UW faculty and staff.
ITHS - Clinical Research Services
Variety of services to support the entire research lifecycle.
ITHS - Leaf Cohort Discovery Tool
Browser-based tool for querying the UW Medicine data warehouse
ITHS - REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture)
Secure, HIPAA-compliant web application supporting data capture and online surveys for research studies.
ITHS - REDCap Class Schedule
Weekly classes held on Zoom. Open to all.
Participate in Research
UW/ITHS clinical trial recruitment site
UW OSP Human Subjects Division
Guidelines for proposing and running clinical trials at UW.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes CENTRAL controlled trials database

WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
Data for over 15 registries around the world
European Union Clinical Trials Database
Protocol and results on trials conducted in the EU
CenterWatch
Portal for actively recruiting pharmaceutical industry-sponsored clinical trials.

Bio-protocol
Peer-reviewed, validated, open access protocol journal for the life sciences.
Biological Procedures Online
Peer-reviewed, open access journal from BioMed Central with emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal of methods and protocols.
Methods in Cell Biology
Techniques for studying cell biology
Methods in Enzymology
Subjects include Biochemistry, Microbiology, Molecular & Cellular Biology, and Genetics.
MethodsX
Multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that publishes methodological advances and protocols.
PhenX Toolkit
Catalog of recommended measurement protocols for studies (genomic, epidemiological, clinical, translational) with human participants.
Progress in Brain Research
Laboratory neuroscience and clinical brain research
Protocols.io
Site for protocol creation, modification, and sharing. Offers protocols registration, including DOI creation and long-term preservation
SpringerNature Experiments
Access to Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Nature Reviews Methods Primers.

CBER-Regulated Products with Supporting Documents
Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research regulated vaccines, blood products, and biologics not included in Drugs@FDA. Caveat: These are products for which CBER has supporting documentation.
Drugs@FDA
Approval reports for FDA-approved drug products: New Molecular Entities, generic drugs, and many biologics.
FDA 510(k) Database
Premarketing submissions made to FDA to demonstrate that a medical device is substantially equivalent to a legally marketed device that is NOT subject to premarket approval
FDA Premarket Approval (PMA) Database
Class III medical devices approved for marketing by the FDA

MyNCBI can be used to...

Set up email alerts to find out when new articles publish on your search topic.
Save search strategies and collections of references in PubMed to return to your research at a later time.
Customize filters and site preferences to see links to UW's electronic journal subscriptions, limit results to full-text articles, and customize the PubMed search interface.
Use My Bibliography to generate a list of publications for your NIH biosketch and maintain compliance with the NIH Public Access policy.

Health Sciences Grant Resources
Recommended databases for biomedical and cross-disciplinary funding for students, early-career investigators, and other researchers.
Graduate School Funding: Scholarships, Fellowships, and Grants
Helping current and admitted UW graduate students learn the skills and tools to find funding

Additional tips for using funding databases:

Use databases of active funding opportunities to identify current funding announcements relevant to your project.
Use databases of awarded grants to find examples of successfully funded projects in your field and see the types of research funded by a particular funding body (foundation, agency, association).
Use Foundation Directory Online to identify organizations, their funding priorities, and projects they've funded.
Also go directly to agency, foundation, and professional association websites relevant for your field.

Data Resources in the Health Sciences
Inventory of resources to support research data needs in the health sciences field
DMPTool Guide
Free, open source application for researchers writing data management plans (DMPs).
NIH Biosketches with SciENcv and My Bibliography
Step-by-step guide for creating a NIH biosketch using SciENcv and My Bibliography
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
Data repositories that accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others). Sorted by Domain-Specific and Generalist repositories.
NIH Public Access Policy Help Guide
Explains the NIH Public Access Policy, the process for submitting peer reviewed articles to PubMed Central and using myNCBI to verify compliance.
Research Data Management
Resources related to the many aspects of research data management, including collecting, organizing, describing, sharing, and preserving data.

Health Sciences Library Liaisons