Community-Oriented Public Health Practice (COPHP) Guide
Need help? Ask the Public Health Librarian
Library Resources Overview
Health Sciences Library (HSL):
Gain access to recommended databases, electronic journals & online books
- Follow UW purple icons to full text articles, from PubMed and other databases.
- Use the PubMed from the HSL website link to see the UW purple icons there
- Order free pdfs of articles that UW doesn't own through the UW Libraries article scan service.
- Connect Google Scholar with UW Libraries for easier full-text article access.
-
Connect to library resources from off-campusLog in with your NetID to the off-campus proxy service
Journal Article Databases
Top 3 Recommended for Biomedical Sciences and Public Health
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowMajor index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. See PubMed at the UW for search tips.
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new windowBiomedical database focusing on drugs, pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine and more. See Embase help guide for search tips.
-
Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowGlobal public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
Multidisciplinary
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowDatabase of citations from over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. See Web of Science Help Guide for search tips.
Subject Speciality Databases
In addition to the databases recommended above, some of these contain non-journal literature as well as journal articles.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowMagazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowConsists of Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD).
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase of nursing and allied health disciplines literature. See CINAHL Help Guide for search tips.
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAcademic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
To discover additional recommended health sciences databases by subject area, see HSL Toolkits on the HSL website including:
- Public Health
- Health Systems & Population Health (formerly known as Health Services)
- Environmental & Occupational Health
- Global Health
- Food Systems, Nutrition, and Health
- Social Work
- Care Provider
- UW Libraries Research Guides includes recommended databases for Business, Environment, Public Policy, Engineering, and more.
HSL Research Guides
Need help navigating Health Sciences Library (HSL) resources?
UW Health Sciences Library Research Guides contains our librarian-recommended research tips and how-to guides.
Some of our most popular guides are -
- HSL - Database Searching - includes PubMed at the UW, Embase, Web of Science, Google Scholar and more help guides
- HSL - Data & Statistics
- HSL - Citation Management Guides - includes style guides and choosing free citation management tools
Is this article peer-reviewed?
Step 1: Check the peer review status of the JOURNAL.
Search for your title in Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory.
When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol. The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).
Step 2: If the JOURNAL is peer reviewed, then assess the ARTICLE.
- Is it a full research article?
- If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is not peer reviewed.