Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content
Resources by Location
MedlinePlus: Health Disparities
The National Library of Medicine's consumer health resource.
The Community Guide
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' collection of evidence-based findings to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease.
Community Tool Box
Tool box for building healthier communities and social change by the University of Kansas.
Healthy People 2030
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) data-driven objectives to improve the nation's health.
Agency for Healthcare & Research Quality (AHRQ)
DHHS's community-based participatory research (CBPR) activities to address healthcare disparities.
Information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other topics related to the health care of immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees.
Resources Available after Graduation
Guide to resources available after graduating from the UW.
Resources by Type
Database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). To only retrieve free full text articles in PubMed, search
PubMed Central (PMC)
Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Scholarly articles across several fields "supported by our staff at Cornell University" (
ROAD (Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources)
Free access to a subset of ISSN bibliographic records. Launched by the ISSN International Centre.
Native Health Database
UNM Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center database of Native health research.
Index of hundreds of millions of scholarly papers, authors, institutions, and more.
Free Health Databases List
California State University, Long Beach, University Library's list of free databases.
Open Access Button
Find free, legal research articles by URL, DOI, PMID, PMC ID, Title, or Citation.
Browser extension that finds free copyright-compliant full text articles as you browse.
Browser extension that finds full text PDFs of articles as you browse. Formerly Kopernio.
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Bookshelf provides free books and documents in life science and healthcare.
DOAB (Director of Open Access Books)
Community-driven discovery service that provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books.
Find books using Google's search engine.
Dissertations & Theses
UW Libraries Searches
Resources by Type
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Collection of research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Literature in nursing and allied health disciplines, 1937 to present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD).
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles covering environmental issues and policies
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles covering all aspects of psychology
Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic journals published by the American Psychological Association and others.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Textbooks, images and illustrations, self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Medical & nursing books.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts & CME materials
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Textbooks and tools for evidence-based medicine.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing & allied health books.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. See
SRM Guide STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Medical and drug texts, including Stedman's medical dictionary.
User limits vary
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, and treatments.
Evidence-based clinical decision support to help clinicians make sound decisions at the point of care.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical summaries and reviews
Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of videos for the study of counseling in social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatry. Includes sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, etc.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system with access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries.
Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health magazines, pamphlets, health reference books, and Clinical Reference Systems reports.
TERIS This link opens in a new window
Expert guidance on the pregnancy risks of medications and other environmental exposures including infections and vaccines.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support system to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety
CQ Health This link opens in a new window Temporarily unavailable due to platform maintenance on Saturday, September 17 from 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. News and analysis about health legislation and policy development. Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Index to governmental and private statistical data.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Global, regional, and country-level data of the world.
Theses & Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present; includes 2 million+ full text dissertations published since 1997.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Reference content, primary documents, and media illustrating the history and culture of the African American community
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Collections related to the civil rights movement including records of federal agencies, organizations, and individuals. (ProQuest History Vault)
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers and other primary sources on the Black experience from ancient past to present day.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Video collection includes documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Images, primary sources, and other reference content.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access temporarily requires use of Husky OnNet. Reference content, primary documents, and images illustrating the histories and cultures of North American Native peoples.
American Indian Law Collection [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
Treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes and constitutions.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries.
North American Indian Thought & Culture This link opens in a new window
Compilation of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access temporarily requires use of Husky OnNet. History and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, from 1970 to current.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to books and journal articles on all aspects of women's studies.
Staff Picks - Journals
The leading peer-reviewed open access journal that meets the urgent need for authoritative information about health disparities and health equity among vulnerable populations.
Peer-reviewed journal with an exclusive focus on disease prevention and community health promotion.
Presents evidence relevant to the search for and attainment of equity in health across and within countries.
Reports on the scholarly progress of work to understand, address, and ultimately eliminate health disparities based on race and ethnicity.
Campbell Collaboration's open access journal of systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers.
Peer-reviewed journal that explores the equitable treatment of all people with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies.
Staff Picks - Books
by Chandra L. Ford, Derek M. Griffith, Marino A. Bruce, & Keon L. Gilbert
Access Through Your Public Library
Seattle Public Library (SPL)
King County Library System (KCLS)
Anti-racist Research Strategies
"Scholarly Literature: These kinds of sources are written by experts in a field. They use technical and academic language, and they are usually written for other experts. These sources are also known as academic sources, peer-reviewed sources, or refereed sources." (
Source: University of Saskatchewan Guide)
Guidance for some databases
Grey Literature Searching
Looking beyond the scholarly literature is
essential to learning from more diverse voices. Grey literature is generally material not published commercially or indexed by major databases. Learn more about grey lit.
Advanced Google Search
Search websites with
Google by URL or domain
Free citation managers help you track your sources and cite them as you write.
This guide was created in support of the University of Washington School of Public Health (SPH)
Anti-Racism and Community Health (ARCH) Center. The primary authors are Leslie Gascon and Je Salvador, and this guide is reviewed and edited by ARCH Center staff. Leslie and Je do not speak for the communities served by this guide, those who are the subject of ARCH research, nor those who participate in ARCH research. This guide is only possible because of past and current hard work by Black, Indigenous, and all People of Color.
Because our identities affect our perspectives and the work we do, Leslie and Je have shared more about themselves:
she/her/hers) is a fat, able-bodied, white, cis woman with a mental health condition and a financially privileged background. Je (
ey/em/eir) is an able-bodied, genderqueer, multi-racial Filipino American who lives with a mental health condition. Ey is a first-generation college graduate and now experiences financial privilege.
If you have a resource to recommend for this guide, please email it to