About the Resources
Resource Descriptions
| Resource Name | Pub. Type | Quality Indicators | Notes |
|
AHFS Drug Information |
Tertiary |
reference text | standard textbook on pharmacology |
|
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology |
Tertiary |
longstanding reference in its 12th edition | standard textbook on pharmacology |
BCC Research  |
Secondary | regularly updated; industry resource | market research reports covering high-tech, energy, and healthcare sectors. |
|
CareNotes (Micromedex) |
Tertiary | update dates stated, referenced, editors and credentials stated | consumer oriented information on drugs, diseases, and procedures |
| Centerwatch | Tertiary | FDA website | information on clinical trials; includes lists of FDA approved drugs by year |
| CINAHL Complete |
Secondary | updated (interval varies) |
some full-text articles available; allied health topics including nutrition/dietetics, complementary and alternative medicine; 1982- |
| ClinicalTrials.gov |
Primary,Tertiary |
regular updates, produced by the National Library of Medicine | current information about clinical research studies |
| Commercial internet web sites | Primary, Secondary, Tertiary | see checklist for evaluating websites | good for uncommon topics; global sources of information; inconsistent organization of information between websites leads to inefficient searching |
Davis' Drug Guide |
Tertiary | regularly published, currently 16th edition | nursing-oriented; includes pronunciation audio |
| Drug Information Portal (NLM) | Tertiary, Secondary | search portal covering a number of resources including MedlinePlus, PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, LactMed, etc. | for consumers and health professionals |
| Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation (Briggs) | Tertiary | ||
| DynaMedex |
Tertiary, Secondary | evidence-based information systematically screened, updated daily | Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information |
| EMBASE (Drugs & Pharmacology) |
Secondary | updated (interval varies) | international in scope; focus on clinical and experimental pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics; search using natural language or thesaurus; 1990- |
| European Medicines Agency (EMEA) | Tertiary | EMEA is a decentralized body of the European Union | browse the alphabetical list by brand name under List of Authorized Products OR search by brand or International Nonproprietary Name/Common Name |
| Factiva |
Secondary | regularly updated; used by industry | Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. |
| Facts & Comparisons
Access ends November 30, 2024. Please see Collection Guide Announcement for alternative resources. |
Tertiary | regular updates, online version of print reference book | searchable by generic and brand names, keyword |
| FDA | Primary, Tertiary | regular updates, US Government website | provides information on FDA regulations, new drug approvals, public health alerts |
| FDA Orange Book | Tertiary | monthly updates, produced by the FDA |
approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations |
| Goodman & Gilman's: the pharmacological basis of therapeutics |
Tertiary | updated as needed, referenced, online version of print reference book | browse the Table of Contents or use Advanced Search and limit search to this textbook, bibliography links to PubMed abstracts when available, personalized account allows saving images and/or text to web or pda |
| Gold Standard (Clinical Key) |
Tertiary | online versions of print reference books | library of medical reference texts, practice guidelines, journals; drug information provided by Gold Standard (Elsevier) |
| Herbs & Supplements (MEDLINEplus) | Tertiary | update date stated | standardized format of consumer drug information |
| Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide |
Tertiary | online versions of a print reference book | tailored to nurses, provides concise reviews of selected drugs; includes Clinical Nursing Considerations and Photoguide to over 400 pills and tablets |
| Manufacturer Index (Facts & Comparisons) Licensed for academic use only. |
Tertiary | produced by the makers of eFacts | search by company name; also contains links to their websites |
| Manufacturer/Product web sites | Tertiary | see checklist for evaluating websites | always bear in mind the bias of drug manufacturers to promote their product; information usually limited to contents of package inserts |
| MarketResearch.com Academic |
Tertiary | regular updates; industry resource |
Market research reports for U.S. & global industries with competitive analysis, market trends, product innovation, buyer behavior and market share. |
| Med Facts: Patient Info (Facts & Comparisons) Licensed for academic use only. |
Tertiary | regular updates, produced by the makers of eFacts | searchable by generic and brand names, common or scientific names for natural products; English and Spanish translations |
| MEDLINEPlus | Tertiary | updates stated, authors and credentials named, produced by the National Library of Medicine | extensive health information resource for consumers to professionals |
| Tertiary | referenced, editors and credentials stated | Provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements, functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions. (Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database) | |
| Natural Products Database (Facts & Comparisons) Licensed for academic use only. |
Tertiary | regular updates, referenced, online version of print reference book | searchable by common and scientific names, keyword |
| Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 9th ed (DiPiro) |
Tertiary | updated as deemed necessary, editors and credentials stated | search all of AccessPharmacy or browse textbook by core pharmacotherapy issues or organ system; contains some content only available online as part AccessPharmacy |
| PubMed | Secondary | updated daily, prepared by the National Library of Medicine |
biomedical database; may include links to full-text articles, search using natural language or thesaurus; mid 1960s- |
| UpToDate |
Tertiary | regular updates (stated), referenced |
medical recommendations on diagnosis and treatments (including drug therapies) based on the evidence and author’s clinical experience |
| Westlaw Campus Research |
Secondary | regular updates |
legal information including cases, statutes and court rules, briefs, etc. |