Frequently Used Health Sciences Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines.
Learn more on the CINAHL Complete Help Guide. - EMBASE This link opens in a new windowBiomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPremier health sciences/public health journal database
For more information see PubMed at the UW - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering journals in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references
Subject Specialty Databases
Selected databases:
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and the controlled trials register.
To discover additional databases by subject area, see subject Toolkits on the HSL website including:
Visit the UW Libraries research guides for key resources in Chemistry, Environment, Sciences, and other areas.
Database Tutorials
- PubMed: Basics of SearchingJulie Nanavati's 11-minute video on the basics of searching in PubMed. Be sure to access PubMed via the UW Libraries so that you are connected to all our subscription resources!
- Embase: Advanced SearchingTo get the most out of this 22-minute video on advanced searching in Embase by Leslie Gascon, watch the PubMed: Basics of Searching tutorial on YouTube first.
- PsycInfo: Video SeriesInstructional video series by Julie Nanavati.
- Web of Science: Help GuideSearching guide by the University of Michigan Library.
- Google Scholar: Set Up Your LibrarySet up your library on Google Scholar to have easier access to the full text of journal articles via the UW Libraries' subscriptions.
- Other Database GuidesMore guides on several health sciences databases.
Requesting Full-Text PDFs
When you can't find full-text articles, request the full text from the UW Libraries.