School of Medicine - Clerkships

Library resources in support of clerkship rotations and study

Related Guides

JAMAevidence
Provides fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature for clinical diagnoses, treatment and more. Includes:
- Users' Guides to the Medical Literature
- Critical Appraisal Checklists
- Rational Clinical Examination
ClinicalKey
Provides medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos, including point-of-care clinical, surgical and drug resources. Also includes Practice Guidelines, Patient education handouts and more.
DynaMedex
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.
STAT!Ref
Includes decision trees, equations and calculators for clinical decision support at point-of-care

American College of Physicians (ACP)
Includes information about common conditions

DynaMedex
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.
Essential Evidence Plus
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system with access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries. An individual account is needed to access content.
UpToDate
Evidence-based clinical decision support to help clinicians make sound decisions at the point of care.

Epocrates (free version)
Useful to identify recommended drugs, drug interactions and, dosages. Includes guidelines and tables
MedCalX
Free medical calculator for iOS that gives easy access to complicated medical formulas, scores, scales and classifications
MDCalc
Includes medical formulas, algorithms, scores, and criteria for medical conditions
CDC Contraception App
Guide to different contraception methods based on risk factors - offline as of January 2025
CDC STD Guide
Helps identify sexually transmitted diseases and treatment options
CDC Vaccine Schedule
Core: Clerkships
Practical guide on how to write notes, call consults and more for each core clerkship
UW OCCAM
Includes University of Washington protocols. Available with UW NetID and password
UW School of Medicine Turkey Book
ASCCP Management Guide
Includes Guidelines for pap smears and cervical cancer screening
Bright Futures Guidelines
Includes pediatric guidelines and more

VisualDx
Includes medical images, dermatologic
conditions by skin color, differential diagnosis builders, and more

KUDOS: Much of this content was compiled by UWSOM medical students in medSTAT and Crushing Clerkships

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Video Atlas images of real human anatomic specimens

Thieme Teaching Assistant - Anatomy
Access to thousands of anatomy images from textbook resources