Library Guides: Web of Science Help Guide: Home

What is the Web of Science?

Web of Science (WoS) is an online, paid-access platform that provides a collection of curated databases. In total, WoS contains millions of indexes on scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), books, conference proceedings, technical papers, reviews, editorials, and other grey literature from over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines.

WoS also provides scientometrics and bibliometrics for their journal indexes. WoS can provide citation counts for most scholarly articles and information on journal impact through their trademarked Journal Citation Indicator™ and Journal Impact Factor™.

The search defaults to searching all Editions within the Core Collection; you may change this by clicking on the Editions dropdown menu above the search box.

Included Editions:

Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED): 1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): 1975-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): 1975-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI): 2018-present

Search Web of Science

Most Popular from Web of Science

Web of Science Core Collection
Search scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network. Defaults to searching all four Editions; change this selection by clicking on the Editions dropdown menu above the search box:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED): 1900-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): 1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): 1975-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI): 2018-present

More Web of Science Indices

Preprints on Web of Science
Discover preprints for key research articles ahead of the formal publication in a journal from a range of international selected and evaluated preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Grants Index
Search for your topic to view which grants funded research on similar topics.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global on Web of Science
"Enables researchers to seamlessly uncover early career, post-graduate research in the form of more than 5.5 million dissertations and theses from over 4,100 institutions from more than 60 countries, alongside journal articles, conference proceedings, research data, books, preprints and patents." (Source)
Korean Journal Databases on Web of Science
Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea. Search in Korean or English.
SciELO Citation Index on Web of Science
Provides scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa. Search in Spanish, Portuguese, or English.
MEDLINE on Web of Science
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM's) premier life sciences database. Due to the functionality of automatic term mapping, including MeSH terms, most librarians recommend searching MEDLINE via PubMed.