Research Guides
East Asia Studies: Home
Welcome!
East Asia Studies
East Asian Studies is a distinct multidisciplinary field of scholarly enquiry and education that promotes a broad humanistic understanding of East Asia past and present. The field includes the study of the region's culture, written language, history, and political institutions.
Research Guides
Starting Points / Top Resources
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
Primary Resources
- Asia-Studies Humanities
- Botanical and Cultural Images of Eastern Asia, 1907-1927
- e-Asia Digital Library, University of Oregon Library
- East Asian Collection
- Empire Online
- Images of Colonialism
- International Dunhuang Project
- International Mission Photography Archive
- Lafayette East Asia Image Collection
- MIT Visualizing Cultures
- National Bureau of Asian Research
- National Security Archive: Sources on Asia
- Papers of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions
- Wilson Center Digital Archive
Director, Tateuchi East Asia Library / Korea Studies Librarian
Like the Library on Facebook
See more about Tateuchi EAL Collections
| East Asia is a sub-region of Asia. That can be defined in either geographical or cultural terms. Geographically and geo-politically, it covers about 12,000,000 km2(4,600,000 sq mi), or about 28 percent of the Asian continent, about 15 percent bigger than the area of Europe. The UN sub-region of East Asia and other common definitions of East Asia contain the entirely of the People’s Republic of China, Republic of China (commonly known as Taiwan,) Japan, North Korea, South Korea, and Mongolia. |
|
The Tateuchi East Asia Library collections are primarily composed of materials in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Tibetan covering all areas of the humanities and social sciences. As of June 2021, the Tateuchi East Asia Library holds approximately 850,468 items. The holdings of monograph and bound journal collections in different languages and formats are as follows:
|
TEAL Auxiliary Stacks (Kane Hall)
The collections in Tateuchi EAL's Auxiliary Stacks (in Kane) will be relocated to an offsite storage facility. Access to and loans of these collections were temporarily frozen starting December 5, 2022 until the collections are safely moved and settled in their new locations, a process that may take up to three (3) months due to various factors beyond our control. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. The alternative is to request what you need from the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Service. For details regarding this moving project, please refer to the Libraries Offsite Shelving + iSchool Retrofit. Any questions, please contact your subject librarians. Thank you very much for your understanding and patience!