French Studies: Articles & Journals

Library resources for the study of French and Francophone language, literature, and culture.

UW Libraries Search

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and more covering all aspects of linguistics.

Littératures du Maghreb
Database by CICLIM Coordination Internationale des Chercheurs sur les Littératures Maghrébines

ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of classical French writings including literary and political works

Portail Mondial des Revues/Global Journals Portal
1000 non-European and/or diasporic critical and cultural periodicals, published in the aftermaths of the revolutionary movements at the end of the 18th century to the end of the two blocs world in 1989.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education related scholarly articles and books
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of scholarly articles covering world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.

CAIRN
Index of French-language social sciences and humanities journals, some full text available online.
HAL-SHS
The open archive HAL-SHS is devoted to archiving and dissemination of scientific literature, published or unpublished, from universities or research institutions in all disciplines of human and social sciences.
Isidore
ISIDORE (Intégration de Services, Interconnexion de DOnnées de la Recherche et de l’Enseignement) est une plateforme de recherche permettant l’accès aux données numériques des sciences humaines et sociales (SHS).
Persée
(Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales). Provides free full-text access to the back files of French scholarly journals in the social science and humanities.
Pascal et Francis en accès libre
Free access to more than 14 million bibliographic references of articles, conference papers and conference proceedings produced by the Inist-CNRS.

ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of classical French writings including literary and political works

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth access to a wide variety of Canadian periodicals, from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. Includes some full-text.

Érudit
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of French Canadian journals on all subjects, theses & more. Most material in French.
Indigenous Studies Portal
Primarily focused on Canada, includes citations to books, articles, theses & more.

To locate the full text of an article in a database, use the purple button:

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text back issues of major journals.
Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.

Journal Search
Search or browse journal titles held at UW. Can't find it? Request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer-reviewed Journals: French Studies
Reviews of Peer-Reviewed Journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Princeton University
Top Journals: French Studies
Ranked by H5-index, Google Scholar
Open Access Humanities Journals
French-language journals from OpenEdition.