Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- French Studies
- Open Educational Resources for Language Learning: French
French Studies: Open Educational Resources for Language Learning: French
Library resources for the study of French and Francophone language, literature, and culture.
Where to Find Open Language Textbooks
Open textbooks can be adapted to fit the needs of your specific course. UW instructors can reach out to the Open Education Librarian for support.
- OER Commons — Open Textbooks by SubjectFor language texts, go to Arts & Humanities and search by keyword. Use the search limiters to narrow by education level, material type, and subject. This large repository also includes other kinds of OER, including full open courses.
- Pressbooks DirectoryMore than 3,000 books published by 110 Pressbooks networks are collected in the directory. You can search by keyword and filter by subject, language, number of interactive H5P activities, etc. Some materials have restrictive licenses.
- LibreTexts: FrenchThis collection includes a small selection of open resources for English speakers learning French.
- Open Textbook Library — LanguagesA handful of French language textbooks are included in this assorted-languages collection. Search or scroll through to see what’s available.
Finding OER for Teaching and Learning French
Instructors can freely mix and match these openly licensed resources or incorporate components into new work. Email the Open Education Librarian to learn more.
- French | COERLLThis list links to grammar and literacy lessons, video and audio files, curriculum, and other resources. The Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning receives federal funding to produce and share OER.
- French Ancillary Activities and OER Materials — The Pathways ProjectThis Boise State University repository contains openly available resources including The Francophone Project, which explores the culture of French-speaking countries through video interviews with native speakers.
- Université Ouverte des HumanitésSupported by the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research, UOH publishes open resources on topics in the humanities, including French as a foreign language and French literature. Use the Discipline drop-down menus to filter the results. Note that the website is in French with minimal English translation.
Open Access Options
Although free to use, many open access materials do not allow revision or creation of derivative works. This distinguishes them from OER, which can be remixed freely. See: Open Access & Open Education: Similarities and Differences.
- MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online TeachingAll the French instructional materials on this site can be used freely, but some limit remixing and adaption. Check the Creative Commons license on the Material Detail page.
- Visez JusteThis interactive website hosted by University of Ottawa provides a variety of language activities and exercises. Although it was designed for French speakers in a bilingual environment, it can also be used by advanced language learners to improve their written and spoken French.
Recent Work in OER
Speakers at the first Foreign Language OER Conference in March 2021 shared their experiences developing OER for higher-level French language courses. Linked recordings are on YouTube.
- Fourth-Semester French: French Language Competency for the Global Workforce
Marion Crackower (Louisiana State University at Baton Rouge) talks about her work on a new curriculum to help students develop functional proficiency in everyday French, Francophone literature, and professional French. - Le Pont: Bridging the Transition from Intermediate to Advanced French
Gillian Weatherley (University of Kansas) discusses Le Pont, a downloadable curriculum using a flipped model that she developed with student feedback and peer review.
Language Learning OER Examples
Histoires d'Avenirs: Science-fiction pour le cours de français niveaux intermédiaire et avancé by This text, built around nine short stories, aims to introduce French science fiction to a wider audience and develop the skills of intermediate and advanced learners through reading, interpretation, conversation, research, and presentation activities.
Let's Read French Books by Several 19th century French stories are collected here to encourage students to read French literature. The editor has provided English synonyms for some words and simplified one classic story to make it more accessible for A2 as well as B1 and B2 readers. Activities help students engage with the text.
Introduction to French by This basic French language textbook published by a community college in Ontario was designed to develop the reading, writing, and speaking skills of college students in classrooms across Canada. Audio files accompany the vocabulary lists to reinforce correct pronunciation.
Le Pont, From Intermediate to Advanced French by A complete French curriculum that provides a bridge for students transitioning from intermediate to advanced proficiency. Chapters are being released serially through the Summer of 2022.
CITOYEN.NE.S: Conversation en Français by Publication Date: 2021CITOYEN.NE.S is a French language method for the conversation class at the intermediate/ advanced level. Content and activities are built around the concepts of diversity, inclusivity and equity, and engage students to practice French while questioning and participating in the world they live in – to be full citizens whatever their background, their race or their gender identity. As the French spelling of the title indicates, the book embraces écriture inclusive and uses it for instructions and general information for all students.