Research Guides
History : Food: Home
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for food history.
Welcome!
Citation & Writing Help
Historians generally use the Chicago Style format. For information to other citation formats see the Citing Sources guide.
Writing help is available in person and via zoom. You can schedule an appointment online.
Additional information on researching history and on writing.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: chocolate history
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "chocolate in mesoamerica"
- By Author - Type in the name of the author. For example: marcy norton
Starting Points: Journal Articles
The following research databases will help you identify articles on food history. Additional research databases are listed under Articles.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on American & Canadian history
- Food BibliographySearch for articles, books & chapters dealing with food history
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on modern world history (Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe & Latin America from 1450 onward)
Starting Points - Primary Sources
This is a small sampling of primary sources dealing with food history. Additional sources are listed under Primary Source sections of this guide.
- Food and Drink in History: Module II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
