Research Guides
History : Women: Primary Sources
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for women's history.
1933 Vogue cover courtesy of the Vogue Archive, 1645 book courtesy of the Witchcraft Collection & 1941 issue of NS-Frauen-Warte, the Nazi Party’s magazine for women
General Collections
To find additional collections of primary sources on the web see Discovering American Women's History Online.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and the Law
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazines
- Godey's Lady's Book 1840-1898
- This link opens in a new window
- Good Housekeeping 1885-2005
- This link opens in a new window
- Ladies Home Journal 1885-2005
- This link opens in a new window
General Newspapers & Magazines
Search the following general newspapers and magazines to find articles about women. For additional sources see the regional history guides.
- Baltimore Afro American 1893-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- Boston Globe 1872-1986
- This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Defender 1905-1975
- This link opens in a new window
- Guardian 1821-2003 & Observer 1791-2003
- This link opens in a new window
- Independent Voices
- This link opens in a new window
- Japan Times Archives 1897-2021
- This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times 1881-1985
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Times 1851-2012
- This link opens in a new window
- Times of India, 1838-2003
- This link opens in a new window
- Times of London 1785-1985
- This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post 1877-1997
- This link opens in a new window
15th - 18th Centuries
- Early American Imprints
- This link opens in a new window
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th & 20th Centuries
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Parts I - IV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education & Work
Suffrage
Biographical Sites
- Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, pts 1-5
- This link opens in a new window